HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Feb 07, 2013, 03:56 AM
United Kingdom, Scotland, Inverness
Joined Jan 2013
14 Posts
Discussion
Align Trex 600e PRO third bearing install

Hi, I am a relative beginner to this electric helicopter business but am in the process of building a Align trex 600e Pro. My mate who is an experienced rc pilot is going to check over the build and setup once I have completed it. My theory /observation is this.

On the stock build there is two main shaft bearing blocks. Top of chassis and middle. (taking a 10x19x5 bearing). Below the tail gearing is a section about, 12 mm, of main shaft exposed and unsupported (well supported by two above bearing blocks). Conveniently there is four holes drilled as standard in the chassis at the bottom, that the Align main bearing block holder lines up perfectly with (seems to me Align have played with the idea of a third bearing block).

Now there is a very very slight play in the new bearings and shaft when installed. Very minimal but it is noticeable. A standard bearing and block wont just fit on the bottom as the shaft has been turned down to 9mm at the bottom for the one way bearing, gears etc. In an ideal world a 9x19x5 bearing would press into the align bearing holder and fit nicely onto the 9mm bottom of the shaft. However I can not for the life of me find a 9x19x5 bearing. So I have had the bottom 10mm of my main shaft turned down to 8mm (still solid and with plenty meat on the shaft) and installed an 8x19x5 bearing into the align main bearing holder.

Now I have bolted it all up and the play is gone, its rock solid. It really makes a massive difference to the shaft play just turning it by hand. I have not powered it up as yet,. My problems is this,

Is there any benefit to the play being reduced ? (i would have thought reduced vibration etc). Seems almost to obvious to be true and I would have thought if there was any benefit to my new setup Align would have done the same???