HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jul 10, 2012, 10:57 PM
United States, MD, Cambridge
Joined Jan 2011
390 Posts
Help!
Increase "C" rate when parallel charging?

I'm by no means a battery expert, as will probably become apparent after I pose my question... But let's say I charge 1 battery pack set at 1C and it takes 15 minutes to charge; If I were to charge 4 of the same batteries at 1C on a parallel charging board, it would take approximately an hour. My question is (assuming my previous sentence is correct), would bumping the "C" rate up to 4 while parallel charging effectively charge each pack at 1C? And if so, would that bump the charging time back down to 15 minutes?
fnffishcore is offline Find More Posts by fnffishcore
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 10, 2012, 11:33 PM
So. Cal.
Joined Oct 2004
7,449 Posts
When you connect 4 packs of the same capacity in parallel, you have just created a single pack with 4 times greater capacity than a single pack. As such, 1C charge rate will be 4 times greater than it would be for a single pack.

In your example, you are not 'bumping the "C" rate', you are keeping it the same but it happens to be 4 times greater current as capacity is 4 times greater.

Mark
mrforsyth is online now Find More Posts by mrforsyth
RCG Plus Member
Old Jul 10, 2012, 11:36 PM
Expo/DualRates = Lack of Skill
San Diego, CA
Joined Mar 2009
789 Posts
It's sounds like you are confusing amps with the C rate.

A 1C charge should take about an hour regardless of the battery size. (When charging a fully discharged battery.)
typeRA is offline Find More Posts by typeRA
Old Jul 10, 2012, 11:46 PM
Joined Jan 2011
390 Posts
Thanks for the replies, guys. I think you're right, I may have amps and C rating confused. I actually have 4 packs charging right now and I have to wait til they're done to verify.