HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jan 15, 2015, 09:08 AM
United States, FL, Fort Pierce
Joined Dec 2013
606 Posts
Discussion
Flying wing for testing automated flight

I am currently working to test and learn Pixhawk with APM and mission planner for a larger project, but, I want to use a low cost, efficient, flier that can handle a small payload (The Pixhawk, GPS, and eventually a small camera) for some learning and testing.

I think the Flying wing is the best solution since I am just looking to stay at low altitudes and keep it in a fairly small area (Park size).

I would like to find a product that comes with the servo's and motor so I can just drop in the Rx (I use a taranis), Pixhawk, and fly.

(I am a Heli guy for my Hobby so I have an Icharger 308duo)

Just looking for some recommendations as I am very new to RC Planes.

Thank you!
Jman841 is offline Find More Posts by Jman841
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 15, 2015, 09:18 AM
Joined Dec 2013
606 Posts
I am looking at this:

http://www.valuehobby.com/review/pro.../category/184/

Or the smaller version:

http://www.valuehobby.com/airplanes/...-wing-pnp.html

Do you think the smaller version will be sufficent or the larger one will be better for stability and future payloads?
Old Jan 15, 2015, 08:22 PM
Joined Apr 2013
801 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jman841 View Post
I am looking at this:

http://www.valuehobby.com/review/pro.../category/184/

Or the smaller version:

http://www.valuehobby.com/airplanes/...-wing-pnp.html

Do you think the smaller version will be sufficent or the larger one will be better for stability and future payloads?
When comparing those two particular planes, the larger is certainly better. There's lots of reasons why, but here's a couple:
1, The larger is nearly double the span and will be much easier to see for LOS.
2. Larger will almost certainly mean more efficient (planes operate better at higher Reynolds number and lower wing loading).