Old Apr 06, 2008, 04:11 PM
Howdy Doody
Yorkshire, England, UK
Joined Sep 2004
210 Posts
Discussion
My Stevens Aero RV-4 Build Log

Hey all

Well a few of you suggested i keep a build log so here goes...

Just so anyone interested wants to know where i'm at, a brief history from me lol. First plane bought & flown by me was in 2004 and was a GWS Slowstick. Built it, crashed it a few times, put it away for 3 years. Then early last year i dug it out of the shed and taught myself to fly again. Mastered that, bought a new SS, made it brushless, went onto Lipos and never looked back. Since then i've had 3 x GWS E-Starters, an Ikarus SU-29 Shockie, RC Powers F117 Stealth, a 3D home-made foamie and a GWS Formosa. I love the foamies, as they're easy enough to build, take a hammering and always (OK, nearly always ) come back for more. Flying standards i'd say i'm a decent novice, still have a few mishaps but not as often as i used to !!

So i was looking on one of my local hobby shops website and i came across the Stevens Aero range, immediately i LOVED the look of the RV-4, and the fact that in the description it said "Builder Skill Level - Novice, and Pilot Skill Level - Novice" had it sold to me in an instant! lol. And thats how this thread comes about!

So my first journey into a balsa build and an aeroplane made from something other than foam starts on Saturday morning when Mr Postman arrives...

I had to go into work on Saturday but when i returned i just couldn't help diving into the kit and making a start . I do have to be carefull not to ignore the wife so much, so i'll just be doing this a bit at a time. The first thing that made me laugh was the instructions saying to tape the plans to the bench, well my bench aint that big!!, so each of the two plans will be taped over each other as and when needed. So i readied the ash tray (will be smoking plenty to keep me steady!) and got the first set of plans out...