Old Feb 05, 2013, 12:13 PM
Gopher huntin' stick jockey
East Bethel, MN USA
Joined Jul 2009
12,142 Posts
Question
DS realism in RF 6/6.5

Hello, all.

I'm a 30-year power pilot who just started flying TD electrics last season. I was playing around with gliders in RF 6.5 the other day, and decided to try the DS Ridgeline site with default wind conditions. Wow! I managed to get the Shuriken Sloper w/heavy ballast up to about 200 MPH, but it would break when I went faster. So I tried the Mistral 3m w/heavy ballast. Much better! I had it up to 300+ MPH a few times - and I didn't even break it! I did get too low a few times & lost the energy to make it back up the ridge, but I eventually figured out how to gain enough energy to make it back up into stronger air. I found landings to be particularly challenging, although I was able to get the plane back down in one piece most of the time. That was absolutely the craziest & most intense RC sim experience I've ever had, and I loved it! I ended up spending a few hours flying the Mistral. I'd like to try it for real someday, but we're a bit shy on DS sites here in Minnesota.

I was surprised at how quickly I was able to DS successfully in the sim. I assume that it must be more difficult in real life. I searched the forum, but didn't find any info on this particular topic. Any experienced pilots on here try DS in RF 6 or 6.5? If so, how realistic do you think the DS site is with the default wind settings?

Joel
turboparker is offline Find More Posts by turboparker
RCG Plus Member
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 05, 2013, 10:12 PM
JWs are Shear Fun!
USA
Joined Sep 2008
2,694 Posts
Realflight's physics and DS Ridgeline are not even close to reality. However, you can use it as a tool to ingrain the correct stick movements to avoid hitting the hill. This will help you when you DS for real.

If you modify the properties of the Mistral 3M (infinite strength), you can break the sound barrier in the sim.