HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Aug 02, 2014, 06:21 PM
Lift is good
Olympic Penninsula, WA
Joined Dec 2001
758 Posts
Question
One meter vs 1.5 meter DLG launch difference?

Forgive me if this is a stupid question--but I'm not an aerodynamicist (though I am an over-educated carpenter), just an avid glider nut. I fly both a David Forbe's one meter "Sparrowhawk" and a 1.5 meter "Arrow", depending on the field I get to. The Arrow always launches to nearly twice the height of the little Sparrowhawk, but weighs twice as much. What is the fundamental principal at work here: lift generation? Inceased speed of launch because of the longer moment arm? Both?

I assume the larger wing generates more lift than the little one, but is it really enough to overcome the increased weight and drag? Does the 1.5 really launch that much faster?

Any ideas? Or even better, empirical answers?
Rayven is online now Find More Posts by Rayven
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 02, 2014, 11:52 PM
Thermal Naked!
United States, AL, Mobile
Joined Dec 2007
1,670 Posts
Weight (maybe mass?).. Throw a ping pong ball and a baseball. Which goes farther. I slept through physics class or I'd bombard you with lots of facts, figures and formulas, but it boils down to weight and mass type stuff.
Hossfly72 is offline Find More Posts by Hossfly72
Old Aug 03, 2014, 12:36 AM
Lift is good
Olympic Penninsula, WA
Joined Dec 2001
758 Posts
That does remind of the whole momentum thing in physics: the more mass, the more momentum (assuming velocity is the same). So, basically, the 1.5 has more momentum than the 1.0 and therefore climbs for a longer period (and thus higher) until the momentum dissipates. Is it really as simple as that? And I suppose that if the weight of your DLG gets too heavy, then velocity declines so the launch isn't as high. Must be that sweet spot of around 9 ounces??
Old Aug 03, 2014, 02:09 AM
United States, WA, Seattle
Joined Sep 2006
304 Posts