HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Sep 17, 2013, 05:26 AM
United States, NY, Yonkers
Joined May 2010
195 Posts
Discussion
Control Line Clubs in NewYork ?

Hi, name here is John. I used to be an avid CL builder and flyer back in the 1970's and early 80's. I quit CL soon after I started in RC back around 83 or 84 or so. These days I am into RC helicopters. I still have my old CL planes and engines in the attic. It would take a considerable amount of repair work and cleaning to make them air worthy again. It's funny, the planes seem to get more damage sitting around in storage than when they are being flown regularly. Also the old oil in the engines has gummed up and they would need some soaking and thorough cleaning.

In any event I have been toying around with the idea of maybe pulling one out of th attic one day and giving it a go for old times sake. In my younger years I would fly almost anywhere I could find a clear field. But these days neighbors probably wouldn;t take too kindly to one of these loud contraptions buzzing circles on their soccer fields. So if I do fly I would like to fly at a CL club site. Only problem is I don;t know if there are any CL clubs in the New York City / or Westchester areas. If anyone knows of of one please fill me in.

Back in the day I used to use a Jim Walker U-Reely control handle. One reasons I liked it was because I didn't have to precut my lines. I could just unwind ad much line as I needed depending on the size of the field and kind of model I was flying. Anyone know if UReely's can still be had ? Or is there a similar handle available these days ? I guess I could always track one down on ebay.
Dimateo is offline Find More Posts by Dimateo
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 17, 2013, 10:58 AM
United States, FL, Titusville
Joined Jan 2007
194 Posts