HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Mar 21, 2014, 02:38 PM
Joined Mar 2014
2 Posts
Discussion
Remotely controlled camera boat

I'm new. Probably should read more before posting.
But perhaps you guys can point me in the right direction.

I'm a drift boat builder with 30 years experience, building full size.
Now I want to build a small ROV camera boat, inspired by the critter cams the National Geographic guys are putting on radio controlled trucks, that they drive right into the middle of a lion kill.

I want build a low-to-the-water wide and stable hull--perhaps foam and glass--that holds a radio controlled table that can spin and tilt a high quality camera, where all of that is mounted on top of the boat.

One control steers the boat. One control points the camera. Another control tells the camera to start shooting. Are there any how-to-do-it resources out there I should know about? Building a hull will be easy for me. Buying what equipment and putting it all together I know nothing about. My Nikon cameras have Wifi adapters that tell the camera when to focus and when to shoot. But wifi doesn't go very far. I'm hoping I can do the same thing with a longer distance signal of some kind.

I have lots to learn. But I can build anything.

I want to make this boat look like a duck decoy and then slowly swim it out into rafts of ducks, shore birds geese, beavers, muskrats, etc. Wildlife photography done from a tethered laptop if possible.
pittendrigh is offline Find More Posts by pittendrigh
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 07, 2014, 04:38 PM
Joined Mar 2014
2 Posts
Slow speed camera boat

I'm still in learning mode. Bought a book.

I want to build a radio controlled and battery powered slow speed boat, with camera mounted on top. I'll use WIFI to control the camera.