Old Apr 28, 2015, 11:04 PM
Find More Posts by rdwoebke
I'm all about that bass
United States, IN, Indianapolis
Joined Feb 2004
15,794 Posts
Question
XG14 features compared to XG8 for F3X models

I bought an XG6 in 2013 and have been using it for several of my models. Currently I am using it for all my 1.5 meter DLGs and my Paragon. I like it and the DMSS receivers a lot. I like the built in telemetry and the form factor of especially the newer DMSS receivers are very glider friendly. I like the JR glider programming too.

I have a Tragi 705 that I fly with an old JR 783 with a DSM2 module. I have been using that setup since 2007 and it has worked well for me but the old 783 is getting a bit long in the tooth. I have thought about using the XG6 for the Tragi. It would certainly work and with the glider programming built into the XG6, the 3 flight modes, and 2 free mixes I believe it would match the programming that I currently have in the 783 or at least come close to it.

But I know there are some things that could be even better than what I have been using for years and I have been considering the XG8. I know that more flight modes would allow me to have an actual flight mode for speed/cruise/float/launch/and land (the 783 I have been using doesn't actually have true flight modes). I also am thinking that the XG8 could let me do things like use the throttle stick to activate flight modes. I have looked at the XG14 too. I have been looking at the manuals trying to determine from a F3X model perspective what features does the 14 have over the 8? So my main question is what are the major F3X functions that the 14 has that the 8 doesn't?

Secondarily which colors of the radios do folks prefer? The black or the silver?

Thanks in advanced everyone!

Ryan
rdwoebke is online now Find More Posts by rdwoebke
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 29, 2015, 01:47 AM
Find More Posts by burke757
United States, VA, Norfolk
Joined Sep 2007
502 Posts