New Products Flash Sale
Old Apr 04, 2015, 04:40 AM
Find More Posts by hey_moe
Joined Dec 2014
8 Posts
Discussion
Need some help or advice

I am new to this hobby and have been flying for around 6 months and advice or suggestions would be much appreciated. I decided to buy the Artizan and it fly's nice. I wanted some more speed for vertical flying and speed so I ordered the Power 10 Brushless Outrunner motor, 1100Kv (EFLM4010A) and a 40 amp ESC. This is what they suggested at HH. Also replaced the prop with a 12x8 APC prop. Would the 12x6 work better than the 12x8. I really wanted more speed than anything else. I also want to increase the battery size from a 2200 to a 3200 for more flight time. I know I will have to rebalance it afterward. The flight time I get is around 5 minutes now. I am hoping with the bigger engine, prop and battery it will help some. What really concerned me the most is the motor they suggested wasn't to me that much faster or am I missing something here.
hey_moe is offline Find More Posts by hey_moe
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 04, 2015, 09:41 AM
Find More Posts by slipstick
Staffs, UK
Joined Nov 2003
11,287 Posts
Without knowing what voltage (# of cells) you're running it's impossible to answer.

But guessing at 3S, a 12x8 prop on that is likely to kill a Power 10, or maybe it will kill the ESC first.

Also you have conflicting requirements. For speed in level flight you want pitch speed so high pitch, small diameter but for vertical performance you want thrust so lower pitch and greater diameter. Everything is a compromise.

Steve
slipstick is online now Find More Posts by slipstick
Old Apr 04, 2015, 11:53 AM
Find More Posts by vettster
"Take Off" eh!
Canada, ON, Beeton
Joined Aug 2008
3,471 Posts
Before you change anything else.. buy a Watt's Up watt meter. Then you will know your v and amps and have some #s to bass your changes on.
vettster is offline Find More Posts by vettster
RCG Plus Member
Old Apr 04, 2015, 12:08 PM