HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Closed Thread
Old Apr 21, 2013, 11:28 PM
Windsor, Canada, near Detroit
Joined Jul 2007
4,322 Posts
Discussion
thermals, and stranger things...

i have been flying my planes for many years, but it has been in warm weather...until now.
in those years, i got into thermals regularly, and grew under the impression that it had to be warm weather in order to climb with the help of hot air (the so called 'thermals'). but recently i have been flying near freezing, and have witnessed my planes climbing and staying up there for a long time. some say that is the differential temperature that makes air go up. that is, if there is air at, let's say, -20c, and surrounding air is -10c, that mass of air will go up. so if in freezing air, and then we encounter not-so-freezing air, that makes planes go (or stay) up there, why call them 'thermals'? shouldn't be more correct to call them something like 'rising air'? or 'risers'?

whatever you experts may suggest...
phil alvirez is offline Find More Posts by phil alvirez
Last edited by phil alvirez; Apr 22, 2013 at 07:51 AM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 22, 2013, 04:52 AM
flying since 2000
Winterthur ZH, Switzerland
Joined Mar 2009
496 Posts
everything is relative. relative to the -20c air, the -10c air is relatively hot.

As i understand the term "Thermal", I don't associate it with warm or hot, so it fits perfectly for cold, but slightly warmer air as well.
sfluck is online now Find More Posts by sfluck
Old Apr 22, 2013, 04:58 AM
ahh crap! crunch..
Australia, QLD, Fraser Island
Joined Nov 2007
3,864 Posts
Sfluck is wise. That's how it goes. I could go on and talk a lot of crap but that happens to often here and it wouldn't alter the fact of temp differentials across a certain scale of practical flying temps. Flying in that kind of temp makes any flyer a special kind of breed to me!
atmosteve is offline Find More Posts by atmosteve
Old Apr 22, 2013, 05:21 AM
Joined Jul 2007
4,322 Posts