HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Feb 23, 2012, 04:49 AM
Joined May 2009
292 Posts
Discussion
Torque-induced roll w/ HK Tuff Trainer

Hi everyone-

I'm not a beginner in RC, but this is definitely supposed to be a beginner plane so I thought it was appropriate to post here. The plane is the Hobby King Tuff Trainer, an EPP 4 channel trainer. The elevator and rudder move quite slowly due to poorly routed (lots of friction) control rods. The ailerons are fine (not much force needed to move them).

Problem: During any significant throttle (<10% or so), the plane rolls very hard to the right. So hard that at about 25% throttle or greater, I cannot make a lefthand roll at all. At 80% throttle the thing basically does a barrel roll nose dive.

If I manage to gain altitude, then kill the throttle completely, the plane behaves very well. Stalls very easily and a bit "see-saw" in nature, but for no-power it's ok.

The plan has a large amount of downthrust "built in" (the motor and mount comes fully installed). I dont think this is a mistake, as the angle is clearly molded into the foam. Also, I dont see why downthrust would have the rolling effect. Most importantly, it doesnt appear to have any left/right bias.

I am considering putting in some washers behind one side or another of the motor screws to give it some left thrust. But I thought motors were supposed to have RIGHT thrust to compensate!?!

Any advice is appreciated...as always...
doughpat is offline Find More Posts by doughpat
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 23, 2012, 05:23 AM
An itch?. Scratch build.
South Wales U.K.
Joined Mar 2003
13,258 Posts
First give it a really good eye-ball for any warps, twists etc. That include both the wing and the fuselage and tail, sometimes foamie models can get 'bent' in transit.