Old Jan 18, 2014, 01:33 PM
I NEED a micro seaplane lrf!!!
Torino
Joined May 2007
324 Posts
Cool
Down-geared slow speed modified Parkzone micro linear servo

Hello guys

Thanks to all the experience and examples I found here on this forum I am studying some micro retracts for my UMX P51.

I was disappointed by the excessive speed of the retracts so I tried a way to have slower, more realistic undercarriage movements and came out with this solution - that I think is cooler than the retracts themselves and of more general use for other projects too (bomb doors opening? :-))

Basically:
Take whatever linear servo. I used one of the oldest 1.5 g Parkzone ones.
Pull away the spur from the worm. Put a Didel 60/12 spur at its place.
Put a Didel 40/12 spur on your choice of axle and "bearing".
Find the right place on the servo motor housing to glue the added gear. I had to use a 0.5 mm spacer.
REVERSE THE MOTOR WIRES!!! I didn't do it at first and almost destroyed the thing. Of course putting one more gear in the train reverses the train direction!

Enjoy a slower and stronger servo movement! :-)

maths: original servo gearing pinion 8 teeth spur 32 teeth so 1:4
new geartrain: 8 teeth to 40 teeth so 1:5 and then 12 teeth to 60 teeth so 1:5 again. If I am not wrong this gives a 1:25 total reduction ratio that should make the servo more than 6 times slower and its pull more than 6 times stronger.

The two gears from Didel cost more than the servo but are excellent stuff

Video
CAM00791 (0 min 21 sec)

sorry for the poor quality..
fabersum is offline Find More Posts by fabersum
Last edited by fabersum; Jan 18, 2014 at 01:45 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 18, 2014, 01:54 PM
Paris (France)
Joined Jan 2006
854 Posts
Very good idea! What kind of retracts are you going to use?
indoor_fr is offline Find More Posts by indoor_fr
Old Jan 18, 2014, 02:20 PM
Torino
Joined May 2007
324 Posts
I am making my own ones.. still under development..

CAM00767 (0 min 18 sec)