HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Feb 08, 2012, 03:40 PM
Registered User
Merk's Avatar
United States, NC, Charlotte
Joined Sep 2004
198 Posts
Yes, I am ready to get this thing moving.
It has been sitting in the garage way to long.

Need to make some noise.
Merk is offline Find More Posts by Merk
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 08, 2012, 03:42 PM
Registered User
Merk's Avatar
United States, NC, Charlotte
Joined Sep 2004
198 Posts
Tom, Just bring the part with you to FL.
It is only a week away.

You can bring any other parts that you might not want also..LOL

Russ
Merk is offline Find More Posts by Merk
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 08, 2012, 04:04 PM
G_T
Registered User
Joined Apr 2009
5,725 Posts
If I ever get my machine running... I have the Hitachi as well. It is pretty smooth and quiet as routers go.

Gerald
G_T is offline Find More Posts by G_T
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2012, 09:01 PM
Registered User
woode's Avatar
Joined Mar 2011
63 Posts
Just curious as to what the repeatable accuracy is for your machines? Can you get inside 0.002"?
woode is offline Find More Posts by woode
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2012, 09:41 AM
Father of Fr3aK, DLG Pilot
tom43004's Avatar
USA, OH, Worthington
Joined May 2002
6,709 Posts
IF I adjust my machine just before the cut I can get within .002"

Nothing I cut needs to be that accurate, so I don't always readjust my machine prior to cutting. I can go for months at a time without adjustment and cut within .005"

What are you wanting to cut that requires such precision? A decent machine with .005 tolerance can be built for about $2k. You can plan on 3-5x the cost for a machine that consistently does .002" and plan on 10-30x the cost for a machine that consistently does better. Chasing unnecessary precision can be a very expensive game.

My machine is typically used by cabinetmakers and sign shops. I sacrificed a bit of speed in my rapids to get a tighter resolution, knowing that my router would lack the power for high speed cutting anyhow. Speed is an even more expensive game than precision.

Hobby machines are exactly that, even though it's easy to want to build it better, stiffer, tighter, faster, more precise etc...
tom43004 is offline Find More Posts by tom43004
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2012, 11:20 AM
Jeff Carr
Ft. Mill SC / Charlotte NC
Joined Mar 2001
2,680 Posts
I have the Energy Chain and the router enroute to us. Should be here this week

Jeff
Goinav8n is online now Find More Posts by Goinav8n
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2012, 12:25 PM
Scott Zastoupil
szastoupil's Avatar
USA, WI, Waupaca
Joined Aug 2002
1,625 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goinav8n View Post
I have the Energy Chain and the router enroute to us. Should be here this week

Jeff
Where did you end up buying the energy chain? I need to buy another chunk and deciding to go with the same generic stuff or purchase a true Igus brand chain. I asked around recently and found out my work and other local organize just threw out garbage cans of Igus chain.....frustrating.
szastoupil is offline Find More Posts by szastoupil
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2012, 06:57 PM
Jeff Carr
Ft. Mill SC / Charlotte NC
Joined Mar 2001
2,680 Posts
Hi Scott

Here is where I got ours

http://www.ebay.com/itm/250974148151...84.m1439.l2649

Free shipping made it a better deal.

Russ had me come over today and do some soldering. I got the wires soldered to the DB9 connector. Now we just need the correct computer cable and see if it will run.

Were not far from getting this thing going. Russ has done a great job. I have some pics but will try to get them up later

Jeff
Goinav8n is online now Find More Posts by Goinav8n
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2012, 01:53 PM
Jeff Carr
Ft. Mill SC / Charlotte NC
Joined Mar 2001
2,680 Posts
Here are a few more pics of the build. I went over and did some soldering for the new Gecko board and then helped Russ do the final touch ups on the Unistrut.

We did not have the correct computer cable for the board so had to order one. We powered it up and it hums. Thats a good sign

Jeff
Goinav8n is online now Find More Posts by Goinav8n
Last edited by Goinav8n; Feb 13, 2012 at 06:31 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2012, 09:57 PM
But I am learning
I_Can't_Fly's Avatar
USA, MD, Cumberland
Joined Apr 2008
1,047 Posts
Wow that's looking really good Russ. I have "cutting area" envy. I had to go and order parts to extend my x-axis out to 33" cutting area before my first part was really cut. I should be able to cut DLG wings in one go now. However it looks like you will be able to cut 10 at a time lol.

I have all my build progress in my Blog for anyone that is interested.

Brian P.
I_Can't_Fly is offline Find More Posts by I_Can't_Fly
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2012, 10:36 AM
Registered User
Merk's Avatar
United States, NC, Charlotte
Joined Sep 2004
198 Posts
Brian P.
Thanks the table is 72x60 but the useable part is only 48x48. (Or there about)

The gantry can't go all the way over to the sides or front and back.

I have a cable for the G540 coming and I hope to get it moving soon.

This is just killing me that I have all of this and I can’t get it moving because I am waiting on a $6.00 cable.

Tom is bring me the parts for the “X” access so after the DLG contest this weekend in FL. I should have that built by next week.

Brian what are you using to surface the spoiler board?

Russ
Merk is offline Find More Posts by Merk
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2012, 11:13 AM
Scott Zastoupil
szastoupil's Avatar
USA, WI, Waupaca
Joined Aug 2002
1,625 Posts
I hope your new cable resolves your issues. I saw your or Jeff comment on the cable and it saved me quite a bit of time when I encountered issues last night of the PC not recognizing the Estop logic from the controller board. I was using the controller and cable for foamcutting, but that setup used different pins. Luckily I had a different cable...swapped it out, and viola with a working system. I probably wouldn't have thought of it as quickly if I didn't see your problem here...so thanks. The XML file from Gecko's site worked with minimal changes. I disabled the 4th axis for my machine and also increased in the pulse width to 2us in the Motor Tuning menu. I just happened to read that recommendation in the Gecko manual (2us pulse width or greater for step and direction), and the XML file had a default of 1us. I'm guessing you already slaved your two gantry axis. Good luck!
szastoupil is offline Find More Posts by szastoupil
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2012, 12:01 PM
But I am learning
I_Can't_Fly's Avatar
USA, MD, Cumberland
Joined Apr 2008
1,047 Posts
I have not surfaced it yet. I will probably buy a 1/2" shank surfacing bit unless someone has one they could lend. I have parts on order to make my machine longer, and don't want to worry about surfacing until I get the final set up installed.

Brian P.
I_Can't_Fly is offline Find More Posts by I_Can't_Fly
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2012, 09:12 PM
But I am learning
I_Can't_Fly's Avatar
USA, MD, Cumberland
Joined Apr 2008
1,047 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Merk View Post
Brian what are you using to surface the spoiler board?
I found this, and the price looks right. I may order one, and share it with you guys if you would like.

Surfacing Bit

Brian P.
I_Can't_Fly is offline Find More Posts by I_Can't_Fly
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 06, 2012, 07:28 PM
Registered User
Merk's Avatar
United States, NC, Charlotte
Joined Sep 2004
198 Posts
OK,
I have some more done on the table
I have the table bolted down and the spoiler board marked for tracks.

I got my G540 back from the repair shop. (Blow a fuse in it-Bad)

I have it all hooked back up.

Got some of the Z axis built. waiting on some more parts.

I have the Router. have to buy the mount for it yet.

I think I can get it moving now.
Merk is offline Find More Posts by Merk
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help! cnc router table ian murdock CAD/CAM 14 Jul 06, 2011 05:10 PM
Build Log CNC router table build hawaiianspork226 CAD/CAM 94 Jun 01, 2010 11:49 AM
For Sale CNC 3 axis router table topforce Non R/C Items (FS/W) 0 Jul 02, 2006 01:34 PM
Looking for CNC router table FHHOBBIES The Builders Workshop 13 Jul 19, 2005 08:39 AM
WTB CNC Router table corey Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 2 Dec 10, 2003 08:16 PM