HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Dec 03, 2012, 11:58 PM
They Call him Dead!
YellowJacketsRC's Avatar
United States, SC, Pawleys Island
Joined Jul 2003
7,058 Posts
Hey Hoghead!
Did you get your power set up issues taken care of?
YellowJacketsRC is offline Find More Posts by YellowJacketsRC
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 04, 2012, 12:21 AM
fly and then fly some more!
nickelbn1's Avatar
Springdale, AR
Joined Dec 2006
2,178 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Liberty10 View Post
I looked at the manual and you need to change to life in the user programing.

Here's a video; http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature...&v=h9wHP4ZBL9w
thanks for the help guys
nickelbn1 is offline Find More Posts by nickelbn1
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 04, 2012, 12:39 AM
The wind caused that!!
hoghead5150's Avatar
United States, OK, Poteau
Joined Jul 2012
617 Posts
sure did Dead. thanks to you and aeroplayin we got it all sorted and working as it should.

i tell ya, i had a headache for a couple days but i sure learned alot from you guys.
hoghead5150 is offline Find More Posts by hoghead5150
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 04, 2012, 12:42 AM
The wind caused that!!
hoghead5150's Avatar
United States, OK, Poteau
Joined Jul 2012
617 Posts
hey nickelbn1, if your ever down our way hit us up and we will go flying. we fly at the poteau airport every weekend, and sometimes during the week when the losers are off work!!

we are about 20 minutes from fort smith.
hoghead5150 is offline Find More Posts by hoghead5150
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 04, 2012, 03:09 PM
fly and then fly some more!
nickelbn1's Avatar
Springdale, AR
Joined Dec 2006
2,178 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoghead5150 View Post
hey nickelbn1, if your ever down our way hit us up and we will go flying. we fly at the poteau airport every weekend, and sometimes during the week when the losers are off work!!

we are about 20 minutes from fort smith.
Wish i could. I drive down I-40 fairly often to go to family in Checotah, but i never get down your way. Would be cool to fly at an airport.
nickelbn1 is offline Find More Posts by nickelbn1
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 06, 2012, 11:13 PM
God is my pilot
JimTMich's Avatar
United States, MI, Kalamazoo Township
Joined Aug 2006
2,430 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jw357_23043 View Post
Has anyone here ran a Torque 2818 900kv on any of their 48" EXP's?
Not enough motor for 3s, exps are too heavy.
JimTMich is online now Find More Posts by JimTMich
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 07, 2012, 07:21 AM
Yin & Yang
Liberty10's Avatar
United States, VA, Sterling
Joined Jul 2011
4,400 Posts
So is there anything that can be done to repair a motor with a slightly bent bell. Its just enough you can feel the vibration w/ no prop. Torque 2814/820
Liberty10 is online now Find More Posts by Liberty10
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 07, 2012, 11:40 PM
Hardcore EP 3D Flyer
VR Eyedoc's Avatar
Canada, ON, Toronto
Joined Aug 2012
551 Posts
Have Scopion 4020 series motors been tested on EF 60" airplanes? I am thinking of spinning 16X8 with scorpion 4020-14 480kv or 4020-16 415kv on 6S setup. woulb it be a good setup? how many amp will it draw?
VR Eyedoc is online now Find More Posts by VR Eyedoc
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 08, 2012, 07:33 AM
Not as Good as The Kid
Aeroplayin's Avatar
South Pasadena, FL
Joined Sep 2009
7,248 Posts
Other than another 20 grams of weight, everything else looks okay. If you have one already, you may as well see if it fits under the hood, otherwise, the Motrolfly 4615 is still $45 less. Tom, Frank, and I have pounded the three motors we bought last December and they're still running great.
Aeroplayin is online now Find More Posts by Aeroplayin
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 08, 2012, 07:39 AM
They Call him Dead!
YellowJacketsRC's Avatar
United States, SC, Pawleys Island
Joined Jul 2003
7,058 Posts
I don't know why people are not all over the new Torque MK II. You can not beat the combo price!
O bought the Motrofly 4315 for my Edge cause the old Torque could not swing a 16". But the MK II which is on my MXS 64" ROCKS! Considering the price, I can not imagine going with the Motrofly. It simply is not a bit better in my experience.

If you are gonna fly the 64 MXS, I don't think the Scorpian is the way to go. The MXS already runs tail heavy and the lipo has to go way back to CG. I have my Boss ESC as far back as i can get it (just above LG Plate) and the 3800 lipo touches the wing tube. I do not have extra lipo to run BEC however. If I did, then it could be placed behind the RX o help balance.
YellowJacketsRC is offline Find More Posts by YellowJacketsRC
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 08, 2012, 09:12 AM
Hardcore EP 3D Flyer
VR Eyedoc's Avatar
Canada, ON, Toronto
Joined Aug 2012
551 Posts
how many amp will the MKII draw with 16X8? I may have ot upgrade my EXC. I bought the 60" extra300 airframe only, the MKII was not available at the time. can I still have discounted price now?
VR Eyedoc is online now Find More Posts by VR Eyedoc
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 08, 2012, 10:24 AM
bryansifsof44's Avatar
United States, AK, Anchorage
Joined Oct 2011
4,725 Posts
I seen Chris grant it after the fact before, wouldn't hurt to contact him to check if you can.
bryansifsof44 is online now Find More Posts by bryansifsof44
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Weights for planes
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 08, 2012, 11:11 AM
Not as Good as The Kid
Aeroplayin's Avatar
South Pasadena, FL
Joined Sep 2009
7,248 Posts
The thing we all have in common here is that if you did not buy the Scorpion yet, the MKII or the Motrolfly 4315-480 are great options, and the MKII will drop right in. The plane, the MKII motor, and 85A ESC are perfect for the setup and paying $170 for a Scorpion, without knowing how it mounts or balances, is a big gamble.

So yes... considering the combo price, the fact that EF will honor the price even after you bought the ARF, the MKII with the 85A Airboss becomes a no-brainer.
Aeroplayin is online now Find More Posts by Aeroplayin
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 09, 2012, 04:30 AM
bryansifsof44's Avatar
United States, AK, Anchorage
Joined Oct 2011
4,725 Posts
Ok finally got my 20x8 props in and was able to do some testing with my 4330-216. All tests were static on the bench 70degrees F @ 140 feet ASL. Readings were with the Castle logger at 10 readings per second (10Hz), so numbers were more accurate.
APC 19x8E
Just weighed it 70g

APC 20x8E
Weight 112g
Peak: 8167 RPM, 3123 watts, 69.8 amps, 44.8 volts
Settled in: 7990 RPM, 2749 amps, 63.1 amps 43.6 volts

Xoar 19x8 PJN
Weight 54g
Peak: 8330 RPM, 2855 watts, 63.8 amps, 44.8 volts
Settled in: 8124 RPM, 2518 watts, 57.8 amps, 43.5 volts

Xoar 20x8 PJN
Weight 61g
Peak: 8102 RPM, 3180 watts, 71.3 amps, 44.6 volts
Settled in: 7947 RPM, 2863 amps, 65.5 amps, 43.7 volts

Strictly from a numbers point of view I should go with the APC, but I will run the Xoar 20x8 due to the lighter prop being less wear and tear from gyroscopic maneuvers. Spool up was noticeably slower with the heavier APC. I wish I had the means for measuring static thrust. I will see lower numbers in the air and the 20x8 props settled in right where I wanted them to so I am happy.

A little difference between the 19x8E and 20x8E APC props. I wonder if they changed there design to lighten up props recently. In the picture the 20x8 on top has a thicker hub and thicker blades. Both are thin E props, but the 20" is 42grams heavier and significantly thicker.
bryansifsof44 is online now Find More Posts by bryansifsof44
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by bryansifsof44; Dec 09, 2012 at 04:35 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 09, 2012, 05:00 AM
Grumpy old git.. Who me?
JetPlaneFlyer's Avatar
Aberdeen
Joined Mar 2006
12,122 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Liberty10 View Post
So is there anything that can be done to repair a motor with a slightly bent bell. Its just enough you can feel the vibration w/ no prop. Torque 2814/820
It would rarely if ever be the bell itself that was bent, almost invariably it's the shaft bent inside the motor which causes the bell to sit 'wonky'.

I'd recommend to remove the shaft and check it for being bent by rolling on a smooth flat surface.
JetPlaneFlyer is online now Find More Posts by JetPlaneFlyer
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question RC kits for experimenting with flight control systems SubZer0 DIY Electronics 11 Oct 12, 2011 09:58 AM
Wanted left wing for extreme flight yellow and black 74 yak hondaboy92hatch Aircraft - Fuel - Airplanes (FS/W) 0 Sep 29, 2011 11:18 AM
Discussion Extreme power systems & Royal Evo 12 rbehrends Radios 5 Oct 11, 2007 06:55 PM
Discussion Battery for Logo 10 - Thunder Power "eXtreme" 5S 4600 or Flight Power 5S 3700? WeatherB Electric Heli Talk 6 Jan 25, 2007 11:29 PM