SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Jul 01, 2014, 10:55 AM
Wildlife Artist / RC Designer
Joined Jun 2014
86 Posts
Gallery
Custom Avitron V2.0 swallow tails.

Hello Everyone-
I've been designing and creating things my whole life but i'm new to posting my rc things online, and honestly i'm still trying to figure this site out. Lol. I just wanted to share a few a avitron mods and i thought this would be a good place. :-). As a wildlife artist my approach to ornithopter design is probably different than most. I'd love to hear what everyone thinks but please be kind with any comments you may share.
These are some new tails I designed for my avitrons. The first was simply a forked cut I made into an original avitron tail. While it made the bird slightly faster it also made it less stable. I could still fly it but it was not that easy and actually summersaulted to the ground once.
The second tail was a custom-build designed to mimic that of the swallow-tailed kite which is a raptor native to the southern U.S.A. and parts south. It looks awesome on the avitron, but it tends to porpoise a bit, the tail vibrates, and is hard to fly at high speeds.
The third design is more of a barn swallow shape, adding more surface area than the second. While it seems to slow the bird down slightly and make it a little more sensitive to wind, it also has the benefit of making the bird come out of turns better, glide longer, and climb faster. Not to mention it just plane looks cool. Lol.
DaVinciBrainchld is offline Find More Posts by DaVinciBrainchld
Last edited by DaVinciBrainchld; Jul 01, 2014 at 05:03 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 10, 2014, 10:58 AM
Joined Jun 2014
86 Posts
Over three-hundred views and not a single comment guys? Wow this is a tough crowd. Lol.
Last edited by DaVinciBrainchld; Jul 21, 2014 at 11:49 PM.
Old Jul 14, 2014, 03:50 PM
Lets get the HUEY up
bolton england
Joined Jan 2009
235 Posts