HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Feb 06, 2011, 12:50 PM
U.K.
Joined Feb 2011
81 Posts
Discussion
Complete newbie...

Evening all,

Apologies for the generic intro/question in advance?!
Have always been fascinated by RC heli's without any real knowledge or hands on experience but recently decided to 'dip my toe in' and bought a Syma 107, twice... Both died almost immediately so gave up and got the bigger 032 which has been faultless for around a week or so.
Really getting the hang of it around the frontroom but weather has kept me away from the garden so far so can't comment on that aspect yet.
Already looking forward to the next step and wanna take it slowly so have an eye on the Blade 120 sr which seems to meet my wishlist at the mo.
Any advice/alternatives would be welcome but please keep it simple as although I am reading about 'swash, fixed pitch etc' it's taking a while to sink in?!
Thanks
ChopSt1cks is offline Find More Posts by ChopSt1cks
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 06, 2011, 01:30 PM
Arivaca,Arizona
Joined May 2008
7,715 Posts
Hi ChopSt1cks,
welcome!
The sr120 would probably make a nice starter heli and keep you amused for some time. It will seem like a handful, but is fairly tame in the scale of single rotor [a coaxial heli has two main rotors. one above the other] helis.

for initial training
I recommend you check out RADDS. It can be boring and frustrating, but is good training.

regards,
Bill
Air Vaca is offline Find More Posts by Air Vaca
Old Feb 06, 2011, 01:45 PM
Heli collector
United States, MI, Livonia
Joined Apr 2009
16,522 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Air Vaca View Post
Hi ChopSt1cks,
welcome!
The sr120 would probably make a nice starter heli and keep you amused for some time. It will seem like a handful, but is fairly tame in the scale of single rotor [a coaxial heli has two main rotors. one above the other] helis.

for initial training
I recommend you check out RADDS. It can be boring and frustrating, but is good training.