SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Mar 08, 2013, 11:08 AM
Registered User
United States, MA, Plymouth
Joined Jan 2013
1,305 Posts
I've tried it several times, no dice. It's definitely something physical, you can feel the little movement when pressing the stick down firmly. And it only happens to me every so often.
Arr0wHead is offline Find More Posts by Arr0wHead
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 08, 2013, 11:08 AM
Team WarpSquad
Daryoon's Avatar
San Diego, CA
Joined Dec 2010
6,574 Posts
Tip. When calibrating, don't press the sticks hard at the extremes.

Also, the smarties seem to suggest up and down, left and right movement. Not complete circles like some of use may be used to doing when calibrating.

ALL new radios need to run through the calibration routine. It's a necessary procedure IMHO.
Daryoon is online now Find More Posts by Daryoon
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 08, 2013, 12:28 PM
Autopilot no control
United States, FL, Fort Lauderdale
Joined Feb 2013
286 Posts
Arr0w, I had similar situation with throttle not registering zero and it was due to me using heavy pressure when calibrating like others have replied. I could see it when looking at the display settings, the throttle bar would move lower when I engaged throttle kill and back up with kill off, of course all with the left stick down. I did a light handed recal and everything has been operational since then.

I know you say it is something physical, but perhaps you are still using too much force. Play with the sticks in the display screen and see how the bar reacts to the pressure you use when you throttle up and back down. I stress the light handed recal because, in my case, too much pressure was actually enough to make the engines spool at zero. If you are not spinning up, but not registering zero, then perhaps you are just a hair heavy during the 0004 calibrate step.
Highly Grounded is offline Find More Posts by Highly Grounded
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 08, 2013, 12:51 PM
Registered User
United States, MA, Plymouth
Joined Jan 2013
1,305 Posts
I'm very light on the sticks in calibration. And it works perfectly. Flight after flight. Until one day it doesn't, and gives the "throttle stick" warning on startup. When I press down (not very hard either) you can feel something give way a little and everything is fine. It's like something is getting stuck in there.

I'm really not worried about it, and won't bother to fix it. I don't want to spoil it's magic mojo, since I seem to be the only guy on earth not experiencing the "full throttle at startup" issue when binding my quads to my 9x. In fact now when I bind to my 939 and x1 it doesn't even spin up. Binds perfectly, just like the stock tx. I don't know why, and I'm too noobish to try and figure it out.

As far as calibration, and what you guys are saying, if you are a bit bullish on the controls during calibration you'll notice because visually on the tx the stick position will actually go beyond the boundary box. Unfortunately you don't see this until after you're done calibrating, so it might take a few attempts to nail it. I did this right away, not because it's the right thing to do, but because I'm OCD like crazy and couldn't stand the two boxes not looking the same.
Arr0wHead is offline Find More Posts by Arr0wHead
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 08, 2013, 12:53 PM
Registered User
United States, MA, Plymouth
Joined Jan 2013
1,305 Posts
Off topic a bit, but speaking of the "full throttle" bug with the 939, I'm using your model profile for the v911, Dayroon (so I can use the knobs to fine tune out the autoflips). I wonder if something in there gives the magic mojo that keeps the props from spinning up full throttle for people on startup.
Arr0wHead is offline Find More Posts by Arr0wHead
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 08, 2013, 01:24 PM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2013
664 Posts
Looking at this props I think theyre a direct fit for the X1, and they come in sky blue, red and black. Interesting alternative for the ones looking for red props for the X1
Tboost is offline Find More Posts by Tboost
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 08, 2013, 02:03 PM
Registered User
--Oz--'s Avatar
United States
Joined Mar 2006
2,150 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tboost View Post
Looking at this props I think theyre a direct fit for the X1, and they come in sky blue, red and black. Interesting alternative for the ones looking for red props for the X1
I can not see the hex drive on props?
--Oz-- is offline Find More Posts by --Oz--
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 08, 2013, 02:16 PM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2013
664 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by --Oz-- View Post
I can not see the hex drive on props?
Look at the second pic, or search for "maxtec" and look the skyblue props, again, second pic. Maybe im not looking good, but i see the hex drive there
Tboost is offline Find More Posts by Tboost
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 08, 2013, 02:56 PM
Minister of the Obvious
United States, NC, Raleigh
Joined Dec 2012
33 Posts
Got our X-1's on Tuesday night. One flew with minor trim adjustments, the other refused to trim up after a couple of packs. After doing some reading I noted that if there is a weak motor the quad will always drift to that side. After another unsuccessful attempt, I checked the left rear motor and sure enough it was significantly hotter than the other three.

Since I got it from Amazon, I started the return process based on the fact that it never flew right out of the box and then ordered its replacement. Dropped the faulty X1 off for shipping this morning.

The new X1 arrived yesterday and I got it trimmed up so we could both fly.

My 9 year-old son and I having lots of fun flying these things around the family room. Major lessons we've learned:

- Put it down on a level surface Quickly after plugging in the battery.
- These babies move a lot faster than our S107 even in the Low mode calling for finer stick movement
- It will be worth it to find either a relatively calm day or a large indoor space to fly the X1's in as the faster movement effectively makes our family room too small.
- Despite the relative small size of the indoor space, I have been focusing on point to point takeoffs and landings to get used to how these things maneuver.

Last thing: I noticed that someone posted a question earlier in the thread regarding how well the DH9116/9117 transmitters work with the X1's that did not appear to get answered (yes, I read the WHOLE thread). Given that the flip function will be gone, are these DH9116/9117 programmable tx's a reasonable cheap alternative for finer control?

Happy flying all. Looks like we'll be out at the park on Sunday flying the quads and the model rockets.
brandtb is offline Find More Posts by brandtb
Last edited by brandtb; Mar 08, 2013 at 11:29 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 08, 2013, 09:06 PM
Registered User
Joined Nov 2004
150 Posts
Look at the 2nd post. I think it lists it in the upgrade section.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Donzee View Post
http://www.banggood.com/Wholesale-Wl...2-p-63784.html
SKU: SKU061399 Transmitter mode 2
WL V911 V912 V929 V939 V949 V959 V969 V979 V989 V999 Transmitter Mode2
I was looking at this transmitter as a replacement for the original one that comes with the 1X because it is said to have 200 to 250 foot range along with selectable rates of 30%, 40%, 60% 80%, and 100% and the flip button for $17.60 . Does any one have first hand info on this Tx from BangGood.
ronrc is offline Find More Posts by ronrc
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 08, 2013, 09:17 PM
Registered User
--Oz--'s Avatar
United States
Joined Mar 2006
2,150 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronrc View Post
Look at the 2nd post. I think it lists it in the upgrade section.
In this thread, there is (I think) some more Tx that is compatible with the X1
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...ight=syma+v929

copy and paste

heres a list of compatible radios compiled by that shopping genius mystman:
Quote:
Originally Posted by mystman
FlySky FS-TH9X 2.4G 9CH transmitter
http://www.hobbypartz.com/79p-th9x-r...nel-radio.html
http://www.banggood.com/Wholesale-Fl...r-p-47904.html
http://www.aliexpress.com/product-fm...olesalers.html

Turnigy 9X 9Ch Transmitter w/ Module
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...Firmware_.html

FlySky FS-T6 2.4ghz Digital Proportional 6 Channel Transmitter and Receiver System *NEW*
http://www.hobbypartz.com/79p-t6-6ch-radio-lcd.html

FlySky FS-CT6B 2.4GHz 6CH Transmitter
http://www.aliexpress.com/product-fm...olesalers.html

Hobby King 2.4Ghz 6Ch TX
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...2_Mode_2_.html

Double Horse 9116 Helicopter Transmitter
http://www.banggood.com/Wholesale-Do...4-p-40985.html

WLtoys V911 RC Helicopter Transmitter
http://www.banggood.com/Wholesale-Wl...r-p-42822.html
http://www.tmart.com/New-24GHZ-LCD-R...k_p153751.html

WLtoys V929 V939 Beetle 4-Axis Quadcopter 2.4G Transmitter
http://www.banggood.com/Wholesale-Wl...8-p-47529.html

i would think the 6ch HK would have a much better range than the X1 stock Tx, it can be programmed via PC and for olny $23 with 6ch Rx, who cares , well, that is half way to the excellent 9x
--Oz-- is offline Find More Posts by --Oz--
Last edited by --Oz--; Mar 09, 2013 at 12:48 AM. Reason: added list of X1 compatible Tx from $18 DIY quad thread
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 09, 2013, 12:18 AM
Registered User
Joined Feb 2007
3,657 Posts
Ron, I got that tx and some other goodies in the mail today.
tymbrewolf is offline Find More Posts by tymbrewolf
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 09, 2013, 05:27 PM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2013
20 Posts
Every second counts...

Stability is much better now that I insert the battery and have the 'copter on the level in under 2 seconds. Now having made over 100 emergency landings/crashes I am a little better at controlling it.

Do the majority of people use the supplied charger on USB or special lipo chargers with the stock batteries in order to get better battery performance?

Getting extra batteries when you buy an X1 is a must!
nw312 is offline Find More Posts by nw312
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 09, 2013, 05:47 PM
Registered User
Joined Nov 2004
150 Posts
let me know how it works

Quote:
Originally Posted by tymbrewolf View Post
Ron, I got that tx and some other goodies in the mail today.
ronrc is offline Find More Posts by ronrc
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 09, 2013, 05:56 PM
Registered User
United States, AL, Section
Joined Jan 2003
44 Posts
I got mine last week and practiced in the living room and crashed about 100 times. Today the weather was great so I went outside where I hung it in 3 different trees and crashed it about another 100 times. Then I got brave and took it up above the house roof line and the wind caught it and blew it over the house toward the bluff, so I cut the power when I lost site and it flew completely over the house and started back toward the house and crashed inside the covered porch. However it broke a motor mount. I super glued it but I now have to order a new one and some extra batteries.
I have used the supply changer cable without problems and last night I forgot it and it was plugged in all night. No problem.
larrylwill is offline Find More Posts by larrylwill
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Syma 2012 new publish, syma X1, S800G, S107C,S036G,what's better wjh041 Coaxial Helicopters 9 Jun 20, 2013 04:07 AM
New Product Syma X1 Quadcopter Spare Parts wjh041 Beginner Training Area (Aircraft-Electric) 1 Nov 03, 2012 06:55 PM