Old May 18, 2015, 07:05 PM
Find More Posts by bladefan
United States, OR, Portland
Joined Jun 2006
382 Posts
Discussion
3d plane for me?

Hi Guys,
I'm deciding what to get (if anything). Thinking about 40 in or 50 inch plane. My airstrip is pretty sketchy (see photo). Its essentially a small embankment. I might have to hand launch and harrier land. My house is the grey one with the grass. I've got plenty of neighbors but out my backdoor its pretty free of people. I'd say my landing strip is about 10 yards wide.

Experience-wise- i'm having a blast with 32in EPP foam and have a 35in profile balsa sabre 35
http://www.valuehobby.com/airplanes/...dy-to-fly.html

I hand catch a eflite 2m Radian glider and can grease a landing if the conditions are right. I have a HK Bushmaster but I hate landing it in my backyard. Feels like I have to land it hot to avoid stalling.

What I'm thinking of-
maybe Eflite slick 480 3d vs 3dhs Slick

or maybe bigger-
PA -X52 vs PA addiction or PA addiction XL vs Valuehobby X51
http://www.precisionaerobatics.com/p...ls.php?pid=797
http://www.precisionaerobatics.com/p...ls.php?pid=635
http://www.valuehobby.com/airplanes/...bre-x-arf.html

Or perhaps starting out with the VH X51 with the cheap gear and then going to the x-52 blinged out later with the extreme iPA.

any input is welcome. I'm beginner 3d. I can hover and harrier my current 3d profile planes. I would likely maiden and do several flights in a more forgiving area.
bladefan is offline Find More Posts by bladefan
to remove ads between posts
Old May 23, 2015, 08:01 PM
Find More Posts by 7oneWo1f
Time will tell
United States, MN, Minneapolis
Joined Nov 2011
8,769 Posts
Extreme flight 60" Edge (or 48").
7oneWo1f is offline Find More Posts by 7oneWo1f
Old May 23, 2015, 08:58 PM
Find More Posts by KE Spin
Shore Huckin'
Ohio
Joined Aug 2010
2,731 Posts