HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Oct 26, 2012, 01:07 AM
New Zealand, Waikato, Hamilton
Joined Nov 2011
285 Posts
Help!
Inventor Fusion/AutoCad Help

Hey Guys,

I am in the process of designing and building a UAV and am frustrated with both Inventor Fusion & AutoCad. I need help determining why when I save an Inventor File (and then export it as an stl so it can be 3D printed) when I open it using the 3D print software it brings up the object I saved and another object which was deleted from the file before saving and exporting it. And in AutoCad I need help placing a circle with a diameter of 10mm on a set of wing ribs (this will enable me to slide a spar into the wing to allow me to have removable wings) also on AutoCad I want to create a 3D object (a loft between 2 wing ribs) which can be built into the wing to house the aileron servo). I have limited experience but usually I can get stuff like this done. If you think you could help me with either of these issues please pm me and let me know so I can send you a more detailed email with the files attached.

Cheers,

Matt
1stfoot is offline Find More Posts by 1stfoot
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 26, 2012, 11:00 AM
France, Auvergne, Lapalisse
Joined Dec 2005
906 Posts
autocad

try purgeing your file before exporting

to create a 3D object you start with a poly line say of a wing rib and then extrude it to a thickness.
to loft a top and bottom serifs you need tip and rout ribs in poly line thy have to be split at the point of the trailing edge and middle of the leading edge then draw a line from leading edge of tip to rout rib and the same at the trailing edge and use edge serf for a smoother serifs edit surftab1 surftab2 and enter a higher number
dpot is offline Find More Posts by dpot
Last edited by dpot; Oct 26, 2012 at 11:10 AM.
Old Oct 27, 2012, 04:19 AM
Joined Nov 2011
285 Posts