Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Jul 03, 2014, 01:53 PM
Joined Mar 2013
88 Posts
Discussion
crasher 47 crashing

I've been messing with CP helis for several months now. I have 2 HK450GT's. One seems to be more stable than the other. I can hover well, fly the heli forward and back in front of me no problem, do turns from a hover. I've been trying to progress to flying ovals and every time I get into a turn in forward flight, the heli wants to dip the rotor to one side and get into a sort of stall resulting in a crash. Happened this morning again. I pushed the aileron stick toward the side of the low blade as it was facing me (an anology I used while flying RC airplanes) but I guess response wasn't fast enough. So how do I avoid these dipping in turns? I've been trying to fly at a slow to moderate speed, trying not to make my turns too sharp. I try to keep my heli level at all times but it seems to get away from me in these turns. Luckily I have a good inventory of parts but this is getting frustrating. Like a lot of people, I progressed up to CP from coaxial and 4 channel FP.
crasher47 is offline Find More Posts by crasher47
Last edited by crasher47; Jul 03, 2014 at 02:15 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 03, 2014, 02:19 PM
Grumpy old git.. Who me?
Aberdeen
Joined Mar 2006
11,188 Posts
it's a matter of balancing rudder and aileron to achieve a banked turn that neither slips to the inside (seems to be what's happening) or skids out of the turn. You maybe need to bank less with aileron and yaw more with rudder... Not an uncommon problem for people used to flying fixed wing where you dont need to use so much rudder.
JetPlaneFlyer is online now Find More Posts by JetPlaneFlyer
Old Jul 03, 2014, 02:39 PM
Joined Mar 2013
88 Posts