HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jun 24, 2014, 06:22 PM
United States, UT, Salt Lake City
Joined Jan 2014
46 Posts
Discussion
launch peg/blade location?

so i am new to this portion of rc and was curious where on the wing tip do you place your peg/blade? more to the front of rear? on the CG? thanks for the info
saltcitytattoo is offline Find More Posts by saltcitytattoo
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 24, 2014, 09:57 PM
Joined Apr 2009
997 Posts
I've never really even considered the CG, but some are saying a father aft install helps.......? The problem is, their reasoning was that there was more weight forward, so the side yaw was less, but I don't think one inch (or less) is enough to impact it all that much.

But using the CG as a guide, it (seems) to me that aft of the CG would be " unstable" as compared to forward of CG "pulling" the plane, and thus more stable while in hand ....?

Maybe GT will chime in on this.
Triggerhappy is offline Find More Posts by Triggerhappy
Old Jun 24, 2014, 09:59 PM
Walter Roos
Canton, Ga.
Joined Aug 2004
3,191 Posts
I have always followed the Mark Drela method of " as far back and as near the tip" as you can get the blade (depends on the hinge line, somewhat) . And as your structure allows. I also still prefer the straight Drela type blade for strength and consistent releases.

BTW you need to have clearance for the web of your fingers to clear the back corner of the tip or you can't get a good back swing to your DLG. IMO. ie, your DLG should be able to swivel on your fingers far back behind you.

walt
ROOSWH is offline Find More Posts by ROOSWH
Last edited by ROOSWH; Jun 24, 2014 at 10:20 PM.
Old Jun 24, 2014, 10:58 PM
sticks2sticks
United States, CA, Yreka
Joined Oct 2011
285 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ROOSWH View Post