SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Mar 03, 2014, 11:42 AM
Sweden
Joined May 2006
599 Posts
FAQ
1/5 <<the Ultimate set-up thread>> on road

Hi racers!
I thought I should start this thread for everyone of us doing on-road bike racing. I'm pretty new at bikes, only been racing cars for the last 30 years...

I'll put up some points and everyone is free to comment and make suggestions based on knowledge or racing experience... I will then update this first post with all valuable info. This will be good info for everyone, experienced or beginner and hopefully make more people comfortable with their bikes and maybe more drivers attending to a race.
So, let's get started:

1 Rake Angle
  • More towards the front: Wider circle and smoother steering.
  • More towards the back: Shorter circle and more aggressive steering.

2 Front spring and damper
  • Softer spring: More sag/Droop, easier to bottom out.
  • Harder spring: Less sag/Droop, harder to bottom out.
  • Softer oil: Faster shock movement. To thin will make bike bouncy in cornern and after bumps.
  • Harder oil: Slower shock movement. To hard will make the wheel bounce instead of the fork working.

3 Rear spring and damper
  • Softer: More weight transfer towards the back, less steering on-power.
  • Harder: Less weight transfer towards back on-power. More weight on the front axle.

4 Fork length and sag
  • Shorter: for more steering? On-power / off-power?
  • Longer: For less steering? On-power / off-power?
  • More sag (droop on car): More stable during acceleration and more weight-transfer during acceleration AND braking.
  • Less sag: Bumpier fork movement, less steering into corner.

5 Rear swing length and sag
  • Longer: For a better braking action. CG moves forward.
  • Shorter: For more grip On-power. CG moves back.
  • More sag (droop on car): More weight-transfer during acceleration AND braking.
  • Less sag: Bumpier shock movement, more steering into corner.