HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Sep 20, 2012, 04:04 AM
Registered User
United Kingdom, Chesterton
Joined Oct 2010
78 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Multor View Post
MegaPirate Ninja

Hi there guys, got my crius for quite a while now.

Really not happy with the stabilization at all, it wobbles like fat tire, unresponsive like a cat.
oscillates like a horny man D:.

and i dont think its on the P at all, tried going from 0-5, no changes D:
i tried everything

My accelerometer keeps resetting it self

I would try to make a video but its really hard to get a good shot.
I had very similar symptoms. Have you tried multiwii? It's stock settings were a lot more stable for me.

It's also been suggested that RATE PIDs are changed rather than Stabilize PIDS to any effect on stability in MPNG
toney is offline Find More Posts by toney
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 20, 2012, 04:05 AM
Registered User
janekx's Avatar
Czech Republic, South Moravian Region, Brno
Joined Aug 2012
135 Posts
Ok it looks good now. Try apm planer and check that it communicate qnd you will need update in help in planer to get mavlink1
janekx is online now Find More Posts by janekx
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2012, 04:18 AM
Registered User
KevinBuckley70's Avatar
Oxfordshire, UK
Joined Jul 2001
279 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by wingspinner View Post
"USB. connector fell off ....."

I assume you guys know that Crius didn't solder the frame of the connector to the PCB but if you do (with a small solder penci) it's pretty robust. I've had no problems since doing that.

Forgive me if you already knew about that.

Cheers
Wingspinner
I didn't know that. I'll certainly have a look that when I get the replacement board.

I have a small mini-B female to to micro-B male tail I was going to use to pull the USB out to one of the copter arms. Do you know how feasible it would be to snip off the micro-B end & solder the wires to the board?

USB seems to just be Gnd/5v plus a 2-wire, differential data interface - so shouldn't be too hard?

As I have a replacement board on order I'm happy to mess with this one!
KevinBuckley70 is offline Find More Posts by KevinBuckley70
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2012, 04:28 AM
Registered User
koolkiwikat's Avatar
New Zealand, Auckland, Waitakere
Joined Sep 2007
737 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by KevinBuckley70 View Post
I finally have bluetooth, GPS etc. running using the latest MPNG on the bench on my Crius AIOP & extender board - after taking the advice I was given at the very start and using a uBEC, rather than trying to power it directly from a 3s LiPo.

It would really help me to know a couple of things before I try to install this on my FlameWheel F450 & try to get airborne:
  • There are many, many parameters it's possible to fiddle with using the Mission Planner. Before making that first flight, is there anything I NEED to fiddle with, apart from configuring the flight modes & the Tx controls if I am using a brand new copy of the latest MPNG (I already did the changes in the APM_Config to set it up for the AIOP)?
  • The USB connector fell off the AIOP for the second time tonight, probably terminally. Can I do everything I need to do to get this flying just using Mission Planner over bluetooth?
  • Is it possible to load new versions of firmware (MPNG) using bluetooth, or will that have to wait until my new board arrives?

I'm not yet familiar with the detailed config of MPNG so knowing what I HAVE to setup, & what I can leave until later, will be really helpful.
To get a grounding as to what does what when you play with your PID's check:

1 - these vids out, they were most helpful to me

MegaPirate PID tuning - rate (acro) (3 min 20 sec)


MegaPirate PID tuning - stabilize (acro) (1 min 45 sec)


MegaPirate PID tuning - rate (acro) (3 min 20 sec)


2 - In regards to what is MOST important read the below, it will cover 95% of what you will encounter

http://code.google.com/p/arducopter/wiki/AC2_Tweaks

"Basic performance troubleshooting"....

3 - Further on the same page...."In flight tuning"(My number 1 favorite feature) If you have a the ability to assign channel 6 in the mission planner to a variable pot on your radio do so, these will enable you to tweak your settings live at the 'turn of a dial'

Golden Rule: Tune 1 thing at a time, until you know what does what

My approach I use in all my multis:
Dial in Rate P (This controls how stable it will sit in the air, its also the platform for all other settings, so take your time)
Dial in Stabilize P (This controls how sensitive it is to your input)

The rest of the settings is just gravy, practice plenty and it will come

Cheers!
koolkiwikat is offline Find More Posts by koolkiwikat
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2012, 04:45 AM
Advanced Monkey
nebstress's Avatar
United Kingdom, England
Joined Nov 2011
1,605 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by wingspinner View Post
"USB. connector fell off ....."

I assume you guys know that Crius didn't solder the frame of the connector to the PCB but if you do (with a small solder penci) it's pretty robust. I've had no problems since doing that.

Forgive me if you already knew about that.

Cheers
Wingspinner
The frame on mine was solder to the PCB, could have done with a bit more solder but still never had any problems with it.
nebstress is offline Find More Posts by nebstress
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2012, 05:05 AM
Registered User
United States, SC, Ridge Spring
Joined May 2012
110 Posts
This has probably been answered before, but if so, I haven't found it. How do I hookup my CN-06 GPS Receiver V2.0 to the board? I'm pretty sure I have to change out the 4 pin connector it comes with, but then where on the board does it go and with which connector? Pictures would be great if available.
Boykintom is offline Find More Posts by Boykintom
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2012, 05:15 AM
Advanced Monkey
nebstress's Avatar
United Kingdom, England
Joined Nov 2011
1,605 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boykintom View Post
This has probably been answered before, but if so, I haven't found it. How do I hookup my CN-06 GPS Receiver V2.0 to the board? I'm pretty sure I have to change out the 4 pin connector it comes with, but then where on the board does it go and with which connector? Pictures would be great if available.
It hooks up the same way as the V1, TX to RX2 & RX to TX2:

nebstress is offline Find More Posts by nebstress
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2012, 05:35 AM
NDw
Registered User
Ireland, Limerick, Kilmallock
Joined Aug 2010
2,123 Posts
I have a gps with just a ground. 5 v and tx pin. That won't work? The board needs to transmit to the gps too?
NDw is offline Find More Posts by NDw
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2012, 05:35 AM
Registered User
Quadframes's Avatar
Joined Jun 2011
745 Posts
Ok Guys, here is a new update for you Crius All In One ver 1.1
I will post more info as and when it becomes available HERE
Quadframes is online now Find More Posts by Quadframes
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2012, 05:45 AM
Advanced Monkey
nebstress's Avatar
United Kingdom, England
Joined Nov 2011
1,605 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by NDw View Post
I have a gps with just a ground. 5 v and tx pin. That won't work? The board needs to transmit to the gps too?
It will work if the GPS module is configured to all the correct setting, Baud,Hz,etc.
nebstress is offline Find More Posts by nebstress
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2012, 06:24 AM
Registered User
KevinBuckley70's Avatar
Oxfordshire, UK
Joined Jul 2001
279 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by koolkiwikat View Post
To get a grounding as to what does what when you play with your PID's check:

1 - these vids out, they were most helpful to me
Thanks for that - I'll work through them.

Regarding connecting a cabled USB socket directly to the broken PCB, I believe the important connections are as shown below?
KevinBuckley70 is offline Find More Posts by KevinBuckley70
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2012, 07:22 AM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2012
271 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quadframes View Post
Ok Guys, here is a new update for you Crius All In One ver 1.1
I will post more info as and when it becomes available HERE
Great, i just wait for the 1.0, and here is the newest, better version?
What is the difference? I hope not so much.
vili is offline Find More Posts by vili
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2012, 07:24 AM
Registered User
janekx's Avatar
Czech Republic, South Moravian Region, Brno
Joined Aug 2012
135 Posts
My arrive 2 days ago, that is in everything I buy...
janekx is online now Find More Posts by janekx
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2012, 07:29 AM
Ungifted Prodigy
Multor's Avatar
Australia, QLD
Joined Jul 2012
288 Posts
i really hate this. mpng crius just wants to wobble to death

what is imax D: can someone please please please help me

any one with 1000kv 1045 setup in there in a 450 frame or 550 i cant trust my camera on this stabilization huhuhu please someone help
Multor is offline Find More Posts by Multor
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2012, 08:26 AM
NDw
Registered User
Ireland, Limerick, Kilmallock
Joined Aug 2010
2,123 Posts
I've 1200 kv and 8x4 props in a 450 frame and the defaults are very good although the auto level might be a little strong. Maybe if you could post a video of how it's wobbling.
NDw is offline Find More Posts by NDw
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mini-HowTo Arduino and HobbyKing Multi-Rotor Control Board V3.0 or KKmulticontroller v5.5 pprioverde Multirotor Talk 30 May 14, 2014 09:52 AM
Discussion New updated Crius Multiwii SE flight controller SGsoar Multirotor Electronics 72 May 15, 2013 08:36 PM
Discussion Jim, any plans for more multi rotor flight controller? chris24g Xtreme Power Systems 12 Jun 25, 2012 08:11 PM
Sold One New, one used ArduPilot 2560 APM1.0 Flight Controlls/autopilots wingspinner FPV Equipment (FS/W) 3 May 28, 2012 12:55 AM
Question Quad Build Using HobbyKing Multi-Rotor Control Board V3.0 (Atmega328 PA) SJackson Multirotor Talk 27 Apr 30, 2012 08:51 PM