Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Oct 21, 2013, 05:22 PM
Resistance is futile
United States, FL, Wildwood
Joined Jul 2005
1,055 Posts
Discussion
Refurbish of a Northwind 36-600

Hi all. I recently traded an rc plane for a Northwind 36. I am completely new to sailboats so please bear with me. My terminology may be wrong and I will have a lot of questions.
She came to me somewhat built. The rigging was in place at one time and all the hull hardware has been installed. I do not think she has ever seen water because the keel tube and rudder tube have NOT been glued. They are just "in place". Many of the "stanchions"???? were broken away from the hull with the rigging string attached. The bottom of the hull and the rudder have been painted in what looks like a metallic black. The keel and ballast bulb are unpainted with filler.
The sails have been taped and rigged. The mast has all the hardware installed.
The sails are little stained. The servo tray is assembled, but installed.
The entire deck was filthy and the person who glued the parts on the hull was very "heavy handed" with the glue and somewhat sloppy as well.
The "before" or starting pictures are below.
I built the stand this morning and have done some repairing and cleaning. More on that with the next post.
circuitfxr is offline Find More Posts by circuitfxr
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: New build project forming
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 21, 2013, 06:28 PM
Resistance is futile
Joined Jul 2005
1,055 Posts
Here is the stand I built using craft foam board. It works quite well and is completely water proof. The pictures will walk you through the build process.
I also cleaned the deck, untangled the rigging lines on the mast, and fixed all the broken stanchions.
Starting to look like a sailboat. Have a LOT more to do. Any suggestions?
RCG Plus Member
Old Oct 21, 2013, 11:18 PM
Taking care of the pond.
USA, CA, Fresno
Joined Apr 2004
7,275 Posts
Looking good.