HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Dec 23, 2012, 07:31 PM
person
Joined Dec 2012
160 Posts
Question
Eliminating channel mixing

Gents,

I know this probably sounds like a step backward technologically, but would it be feasible to eliminate or mitigate potential pitch sensitivity in a nurflugel or other flying wing type of aircraft by having the elevator and aileron controls on separate, unmixed channels, where the ailerons are still large surfaces with long throws for quick rolling, but the elevator(s) are just tiny surfaces with short throws enough to give the wing smooth pitch control, but not enough to throw it into a tumble with too much control input? I'll admit I have little experience with wings, but this idea occurred to me as something that might theoretically work.
derp express is offline Find More Posts by derp express
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 23, 2012, 09:59 PM
internet gadfly
Colorado
Joined Aug 2006
2,145 Posts
It's not unusual at all for planks to have an elevator in the middle with ailerons outboard. Swept wings can also be configured that way but for smaller sweep angles elevons produce better pitch response.
nmasters is offline Find More Posts by nmasters
Old Dec 25, 2012, 09:49 AM
United States, VA, Alexandria
Joined Sep 2008
985 Posts
What about a mechanical mixer? A double swing arm, like the o es used for v tails? Then you'd have best of both worldsnand andnot have to have a fancy mixing radio
1967250s is offline Find More Posts by 1967250s
Old Dec 25, 2012, 11:29 AM
Just call me crash for short
United States, OH, The Plains
Joined Jan 2011
1,673 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1967250s View Post
What about a mechanical mixer? A double swing arm, like the o es used for v tails? Then you'd have best of both worldsnand andnot have to have a fancy mixing radio