HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Nov 14, 2012, 06:08 AM
Former IAF pilot. Retired
kosem's Avatar
France, IdF, Paris
Joined Apr 2012
780 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by G Man V2 View Post
Thanks flying-llama, just looked it up...
Is there a Mac operating system simulator? Sorry, I should have asked that question earlier.... I don't mind paying for it, but if it's ludicrous money I would rather spend it on spare parts for the V2.
So this is where I am at the moment and future timeline:
1) purchased V2;
2) started crashing learning to fly;
3) started a relationship with a parts supplier;
4) thinking DEVO 7E Tx purchase;
5) thinking simulator purchase;
6) thinking QR Ladybird-Z-07 Receiver (V1 board) as spare or make a second LB;
7) seriously think about building my own arduino based quad.
What do the olde timers think? Any suggestions before I go ahead and 'reinvent the wheel'?
Lol!
You are on the right path to ruin yourself and have tons of fun!
For the simulator, you can't go wrong with Phoenix, compatible Mac:
http://www.phoenix-sim.com/news.asp
You'll find the mQX model as unique quad but quite well rendered IMO.
kosem is offline Find More Posts by kosem
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 14, 2012, 06:51 AM
Registered User
Australia, NSW, Lake Macquarie
Joined Sep 2012
24 Posts
Thank you kosem, however the phoenix website talks about the Apple MAC running Microsoft operating system. Looks like I will spend the simulator budget on spare parts
Any opinions on DEVO 7E V's DEVO 6S Tx?
What can you tell me about the telemetry function of the V1? Worth it?
At this stage I'm leaning towards, a DEVO 7E or 6S with a 6Ch receiver as I would use it on other arduino/RC projects, packaged with a V1 RTF boxed set (possibly from 9imod site). Depending on $$.
G Man V2 is offline Find More Posts by G Man V2
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 07:23 AM
Registered User
Joined Nov 2012
2 Posts
Mac Simulator

you might want to give Heli-X a try:

http://www.heli-x.net/index_e.shtml

Regards
Stefan
extra68 is offline Find More Posts by extra68
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 07:50 AM
cellulose laminate reinforced
Joined Mar 2011
55 Posts
I have a Devo 6s
they cant shut me up about how much I like it.
Worth the extra $$ and then some.
Flying MiniCP and QRLBv1
great feel in the hands
very nice stick feel
color touch/stylus screen
worthy of serious consideration
a pro radio in a compact form
DoctorSpin is offline Find More Posts by DoctorSpin
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 09:30 AM
Registered User
Philippines, Calabarzon, San Pedro
Joined Jul 2012
3,605 Posts
Any particular reason i should go with V1?

$60 No TX
http://www.ehirobo.com/shop/RC-UFOs-...duct_info.html

$46 With 4ch
http://www.ehirobo.com/shop/RC-UFOs-...duct_info.html

I already have a Devo7 so the TX doesn't matter.
Hajile is offline Find More Posts by Hajile
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 10:14 AM
Tri-Quad-Hexa-Octo-copters!!
United States, TX, San Antonio
Joined Feb 2007
14,264 Posts
Hi H,
The cheapest shipping to SATX is $25
You will be happy with either one. The V1 has telemetry with higher grade and capable DEVO Tx's, and an accelerometer for assistance in staying level for long periods. I find I do not use telemetry since it uses power and will reduce 1-2 minutes of flight time. The V2 will stay level for a shorter period before you have to correct it.
Cheers,
Jim
Quadrocopter and Tricopter Info Mega Link Index
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hajile View Post
Any particular reason i should go with V1?

$60 No TX
http://www.ehirobo.com/shop/RC-UFOs-...duct_info.html

$46 With 4ch
http://www.ehirobo.com/shop/RC-UFOs-...duct_info.html

I already have a Devo7 so the TX doesn't matter.
jesolins is offline Find More Posts by jesolins
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 10:15 AM
Registered User
Philippines, Calabarzon, San Pedro
Joined Jul 2012
3,605 Posts
So the V1 is six axis and the V2 is three axis?
Hajile is offline Find More Posts by Hajile
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 10:18 AM
Tri-Quad-Hexa-Octo-copters!!
United States, TX, San Antonio
Joined Feb 2007
14,264 Posts
H,
Yep.
Cheers,
Jim
Quadrocopter and Tricopter Info Mega Link Index
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hajile View Post
So the V1 is six axis and the V2 is three axis?
jesolins is offline Find More Posts by jesolins
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 10:18 AM
Registered User
TurboRacer's Avatar
United States, CT, Waterbury
Joined Oct 2002
1,605 Posts
Gahhh.. Still waiting on my DSM board.. Where oh where in the world is my DSM board.

Where is it.

According to 9imod, they shipped it out on Nov 1st. According to the HK Post tracking site - "left Hong Kong for its destination on 11-Nov-2012"

Gah. Probably won't see it till Christmas some time.
TurboRacer is offline Find More Posts by TurboRacer
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 10:44 AM
Registered User
USA, GA, Kennesaw
Joined Dec 2003
452 Posts
I almost picked up a cute aluminum case from 9imod for cheap... then I checked the shipping
Tony Twoskids is offline Find More Posts by Tony Twoskids
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 11:09 AM
Get Airborne
Sweden, Skåne County, Hofterup
Joined May 2012
278 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by G Man V2 View Post
Thank you kosem, however the phoenix website talks about the Apple MAC running Microsoft operating system. Looks like I will spend the simulator budget on spare parts
Any opinions on DEVO 7E V's DEVO 6S Tx?
What can you tell me about the telemetry function of the V1? Worth it?
At this stage I'm leaning towards, a DEVO 7E or 6S with a 6Ch receiver as I would use it on other arduino/RC projects, packaged with a V1 RTF boxed set (possibly from 9imod site). Depending on $$.
I think its really nice to have a prewarning before the battery is empty, and you crash because its not possible to fast gain altitude when trying to avoid an obstacle.

Most of my flying is between trees and buildings, and I like to fly near the ground.

For me its worth the shorter flight time. With good battery the flying time is almost 6 minutes and battery change only takes seconds.
Stenkryparen is offline Find More Posts by Stenkryparen
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 11:19 AM
Get Airborne
Sweden, Skåne County, Hofterup
Joined May 2012
278 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by G Man V2 View Post
Thanks flying-llama, just looked it up...
Is there a Mac operating system simulator? Sorry, I should have asked that question earlier.... I don't mind paying for it, but if it's ludicrous money I would rather spend it on spare parts for the V2.
So this is where I am at the moment and future timeline:
1) purchased V2;
2) started crashing learning to fly;
3) started a relationship with a parts supplier;
4) thinking DEVO 7E Tx purchase;
5) thinking simulator purchase;
6) thinking QR Ladybird-Z-07 Receiver (V1 board) as spare or make a second LB;
7) seriously think about building my own arduino based quad.
What do the olde timers think? Any suggestions before I go ahead and 'reinvent the wheel'?
I love my Devo 7E, I think it has the function needed for LB quad flying, also use it when flying Walkera Mini CP (my first Devo).
Stenkryparen is offline Find More Posts by Stenkryparen
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 02:38 PM
Registered User
Australia, NSW, Lake Macquarie
Joined Sep 2012
24 Posts
Can someone (other than a commercial site) verify that the Devo 7E is capable of telemetry action?
I do own a Devo4... how best to set this Tx up to fly a V2? That is, what are the trim settings? Am I right in saying that there are 50 trim settings in the range, 25 being in the middle/no trim?
I trust my vocabulary is correct or at least understandable.
G Man V2 is offline Find More Posts by G Man V2
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 02:44 PM
Tri-Quad-Hexa-Octo-copters!!
United States, TX, San Antonio
Joined Feb 2007
14,264 Posts
G,
This post claims the DEVO 7e has telemetry capability: http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...i#post22176423

The DEVO Tx's will beep when you are at the trim center. The trim click default is 4/20. On my DEVO 10 and other Tx's I set the trim click to 1 step per click for my multicopters for finer trim tuning capability.

Cheers,
Jim
Quadrocopter and Tricopter Info Mega Link Index
Quote:
Originally Posted by G Man V2 View Post
Can someone (other than a commercial site) verify that the Devo 7E is capable of telemetry action?
I do own a Devo4... how best to set this Tx up to fly a V2? That is, what are the trim settings? Am I right in saying that there are 50 trim settings in the range, 25 being in the middle/no trim?
I trust my vocabulary is correct or at least understandable.
jesolins is offline Find More Posts by jesolins
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 03:09 PM
Get Airborne
Sweden, Skåne County, Hofterup
Joined May 2012
278 Posts
Yes, the Devo 7E has telemetry function, I use it every day.

Quote:
Originally Posted by G Man V2 View Post
Can someone (other than a commercial site) verify that the Devo 7E is capable of telemetry action?
I do own a Devo4... how best to set this Tx up to fly a V2? That is, what are the trim settings? Am I right in saying that there are 50 trim settings in the range, 25 being in the middle/no trim?
I trust my vocabulary is correct or at least understandable.
Stenkryparen is offline Find More Posts by Stenkryparen
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Build Log Project QR-1 - Rutan Quickie Racer Geode Slope 110 May 04, 2010 11:25 AM
Discussion Ladybird Special imp.bob Vintage & Old-Timer Designs 4 Feb 03, 2008 10:08 PM
ladybird beetle/gws easybug nebuchadnezzar Foamies (Kits) 1 Aug 14, 2004 08:48 AM