HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Dec 06, 2012, 12:55 PM
Diverted by planks
tracknoob's Avatar
South Florida
Joined Dec 2010
4,727 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RC Man View Post
14SG has telemetry.


.
Yeah, but maybe more important to many current users, it uses both FASST and S-FHSS protocols, so those who bought a 'lesser' transmitter then bought multiple receivers, that wont work on an 8FG, don't have to leave all that investment behind to move up to a 14 channel radio!

tracknoob is offline Find More Posts by tracknoob
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 06, 2012, 03:26 PM
Oxford Panic
AndyOne's Avatar
United Kingdom, Oxford
Joined Feb 2003
3,637 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RC Man View Post
...If you want an excellent low cost receiver get the FrSky TFR8S. I just ordered a couple more of them. Actually they are better than Futaba in that they have an RSSI output port..
You will need the TFR8SB to get an RSSI port, the 8S doesn't have RSSI. The TFRSP receiver does have RSSI and CPPM but only outputs conventional servo signals 5 to 10 incl.

I hope this helps.

A.
AndyOne is offline Find More Posts by AndyOne
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 06, 2012, 05:24 PM
A man with too many toys
United States
Joined Feb 2001
17,008 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by tracknoob View Post
Yeah, but maybe more important to many current users, it uses both FASST and S-FHSS protocols, so those who bought a 'lesser' transmitter then bought multiple receivers, that wont work on an 8FG, don't have to leave all that investment behind to move up to a 14 channel radio!

S-FHSS is a good feature but with all those low cost FrSky FASST receivers it may mot be worth selling your 8FG and getting an 14SG.

.
RC Man is online now Find More Posts by RC Man
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 06, 2012, 10:58 PM
too cheap to be a Plus user
dougbo's Avatar
USA, WA, Richland
Joined Nov 2009
1,238 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RC Man View Post
S-FHSS is a good feature but with all those low cost FrSky FASST receivers it may mot be worth selling your 8FG and getting an 14SG.
FrSky is developing their own protocol so I wonder if the FrSky FASST receivers will go away?

Doug B.
dougbo is offline Find More Posts by dougbo
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 07, 2012, 12:22 AM
Registered User
South Africa, WC, Cape Town
Joined Dec 2009
1,389 Posts
According to FrSKY Pornstar Renatoa, the FrSKY FASST clones are here to stay.
Since they offer really awesome receivers I'm not too interested in SFHSS at this time.
TimBle is offline Find More Posts by TimBle
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 07, 2012, 12:25 AM
Registered User
South Africa, WC, Cape Town
Joined Dec 2009
1,389 Posts
The 14SG has a built in S.bus programmer.

Is this programmer compatible with all S.bus servo's, just the 4.8V-6.0V S.bus servo's or the HV servo's?
It appears the new HV servo's require a different PC programme called S-link whereas the older servo's required PC-link.

I get the feeling this has not been thought through and Futaba are making a hash of there product line with may too many different technologies
TimBle is offline Find More Posts by TimBle
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 08, 2012, 09:05 AM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2011
68 Posts
T8fg / t14sg & EZUHF w/o ext. lipo

Can I use a step up 12v converter inside the Tx so the voltage supplied by the futaba plug to the ezuhf is 12v?
I really. Would prefer to avoid using an external battery for the ezuhf, it is much better if the UHF tx is powered automatically with the futaba on/off sw. as well.
Enough space inside? What about rf interference ?
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Classic-car-...-/350436684000
Assaf110 is offline Find More Posts by Assaf110
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 08, 2012, 10:39 AM
numnutchris
Joined Sep 2009
407 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Assaf110 View Post
Can I use a step up 12v converter inside the Tx so the voltage supplied by the futaba plug to the ezuhf is 12v?
---
I wouldnt suggest adding any VR inside the tx as it also would need altering the buddyport, but have another idea (havent flown it, only benchtested so far).
Get any of those CPPM FASST RXes (eg. FrSky TFR4, http://www.frsky-rc.com/ShowProducts.asp?id=106 ) and bind it to the Tx in Multimode & connect it to the Immersion module. If you want to runt the ezuhf on 3S I suggest you use an adapter to connect 2S from your packs balance lead or an ubec to power the Rx. Then put it all in a box on a tripod or something and place it on a good spot within your Tx range. Youll loose a frame or two (in latency) which probably wont be noticeable assuming youre not using the immersion for eg. hard 3D on some small 250 heli
numnutchris is offline Find More Posts by numnutchris
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 08, 2012, 10:49 AM
Registered User
richard hanson's Avatar
Joined Oct 2007
6,013 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimBle View Post
The 14SG has a built in S.bus programmer.

Is this programmer compatible with all S.bus servo's, just the 4.8V-6.0V S.bus servo's or the HV servo's?
It appears the new HV servo's require a different PC programme called S-link whereas the older servo's required PC-link.

I get the feeling this has not been thought through and Futaba are making a hash of there product line with may too many different technologies
Do you remember what happened to Martin Luther when he questioned?
richard hanson is online now Find More Posts by richard hanson
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 08, 2012, 05:42 PM
Sink Stinks
Silent-AV8R's Avatar
Orange County, CA
Joined Aug 2004
3,719 Posts
According to page 64 of the manual the only S.Bus servo that cannot be set using the 14SG is the S9070SB servo. All others can. The software you referred to does not apply when using the 14SG or 18MZ built-in S.Bus programming feature.

The 18MZ has the same limitation. I think this is because the 9070 was the first S.Bus servo and for some reason it is only compatible with the PC-based software.
Silent-AV8R is online now Find More Posts by Silent-AV8R
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 09, 2012, 05:57 AM
Registered User
South Africa, WC, Cape Town
Joined Dec 2009
1,389 Posts
Ok thanks. I guess this makes it pretty versatile wrt S.bus servo's then since S.bus servo's are also porgrammable. That great news since it in effect becomes the primary programmer for the servo's and not the CIU-2.
TimBle is offline Find More Posts by TimBle
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 09, 2012, 11:14 AM
Sink Stinks
Silent-AV8R's Avatar
Orange County, CA
Joined Aug 2004
3,719 Posts
Exactly. The programmers built into the 14SG and 18MZ eliminate the need to use the CIU-2 and a computer to program S.Bus servos.
Silent-AV8R is online now Find More Posts by Silent-AV8R
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 02:46 AM
Registered User
DeBary, FL
Joined Nov 2010
1,148 Posts
SC controls two channels

I'm working on a flour-based electric powered smoke system. Someone posted a purely passive system that used simply airspeed to create airflow to move the flour, but it worked fairly unspectacularly. I spent a couple of hours writing up why it didn't work so well, trying to rearrange things for it to work. Eventually I decided though that there really wasn't enough 'air power' to make it work and it'd be 1000x easier to add some electric power.

So I'm using two small motors, one is an air pump and one is a fan. Both brushed. (They -could- be operated off one channel and one simple switch but for this prototype I'd -prefer- to operate them off two channels and two tiny brushed ESCs. (ESC vs switch is pretty close to the same price anyway.))

Part of the reason for using dual channels and dual ESCs is that I -may- want to use LD and RD to vary the speed of the motors. It may not be necessary or even useful but I want to leave that option open.

I want to use SC to control both motors such that pos-0 leaves both motors off, pos-1 turns on one motor, and pos-2 turns on both motors.

After reading through a bunch of posts here I have two P-mixes very close to working but not quite. I've got the mixes and SC assigned such that in the P-mix screens the setup -does- say the switch is turning on the mixes correctly, but I'm having difficulty 'sending the command to the channel.'

Here's what I've got:

In Link - Function I have 'nothing' assigned to Ctrl or Trim for Aux1 and Aux2.

In Mdl - Prog Mix screen 1 I have:

1 [On/Off] Aux1 -> Aux1
2 [On/Off] Aux2 -> Aux2

In both P-mixes, screen 2, I have the SC correctly set up with OFF-ON-ON and OFF-OFF-ON, such that when I toggle the switch the ACT indicator in screen 2 and the on/off indicator in screen 1 behave correctly. That's good. (I've had enough experience setting up surfaces with triple rates to figure that out.)

But in the Servo screen I see no activity because I don't know how to assign the output of the mix to a channel -except- for the Function menu.

In both P-mix menu screen I haven't changed anything else, Linear, Link, Trim, and it may be something in there that I need. I hacked around a bit with Points and Offset but gained no new insight so changed them back to default.

-If- I assign CH 5 and CH 8 to SC in the Function menu, the Servo screen -does- react, but not as desired. Both pos-1 and pos-2 of SC turn on -both- channels, first from -100 to 0 (half speed) and then to +100 (full speed.)

I need pos-0 to leave both motors off, pos-1 to turn one motor full on, and pos-2 to keep the first motor on and also turn on the second motor.

So the Q is, if not the Function menu then where do I assign the output of the mixes to control the channels?

Thanks much for clues. 'Film at 11' if it works well enough.
jbarchuk is online now Find More Posts by jbarchuk
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 03:12 AM
Registered User
France, PACA, Aix-en-Provence
Joined Dec 2007
185 Posts
Optimal Antenna placement

Quick question.

I have always wondered this about my 8FG...

When I used to fly with my TM-7 module, I used to point my antenna downwards with a slight inclination to have my planes perpendicular to the antenna.

The 8FG only allows me 90 degrees of motion on the antenna.

My solution is to fly with the antenna horizonal to optimise my signal. The only drawback is that I will need to face my plane... which is usually the idea :-) But when I look away at something/someone, I may risk a reduced signal if I turn my TX away as well. I always reckoned a downward pointed antenna reduced this directional sensitivity.

What are your thoughts on this?
Dan Zero-G is offline Find More Posts by Dan Zero-G
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 08:14 AM
Registered User
South Africa, WC, Cape Town
Joined Dec 2009
1,389 Posts
Dont look away at something else...

But you can also tuen the antenna vertical /upwards which is better than turning it downwards vertical..
TimBle is offline Find More Posts by TimBle
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Focus 3 FM question. Also, about that new Futaba 3 ch. . . EFoil Parkflyers 5 Oct 19, 2001 11:59 AM
Wanted New Futaba T6XHS / Complete xios3 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 2 Aug 04, 2001 06:16 AM
4- New Futaba S-148 Servos $45 Shipped xios3 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 0 Aug 01, 2001 04:49 PM
New futaba 3 channel ss radio! carl schaller Electric Plane Talk 6 Jun 24, 2001 08:21 PM
New Futaba FF9 to replace FF8? John E Electric Plane Talk 5 Jun 10, 2001 05:41 AM