Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Dec 19, 2011, 05:23 PM
Illegitimi non carborundum
Joined Mar 2011
1,178 Posts
Discussion
Coat the inside of the plane with thinned epoxy?

I'm working on a Pulse 125 XT ARF which will be powered by a DLE 20. It's been suggested to me by an experienced builder at our club that every accessible wood surface inside the plane should be coated with thinned epoxy to strengthen the structure against the extra vibration that a gas engine will introduce. So, I have either one or four questions:

1. Do you agree?

If yes,

2. What type of epoxy would you use?
3. What would you use to dilute the epoxy?
4. What ratio of epoxy to diluting agent would you use?

Cheers!

John.
grosbeak is offline Find More Posts by grosbeak
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 19, 2011, 05:41 PM
I'm a pilot... 100 yrs to late
USA, FL, Palm Harbor
Joined Jan 2005
3,423 Posts
did he say to to do anything for the servos from the extra vibration. I didn't realize gas engines introduced additional vibration. Since I fly glow I only coat fore and aft of the firewall (tank area) with epoxy... full strength. Brush it on lightly then hit with a covering gun which turns it more liquid and it penetrates everywhere and kicks off quickly.
Thermalin is offline Find More Posts by Thermalin
Old Dec 19, 2011, 05:41 PM
B for Bruce
The 'Wack, BC, Canada
Joined Oct 2002
11,228 Posts
Coating a wood surface in glue isn't going to do diddly. Epoxy only increases strength when it's used to soak into fibers such as with fiberglass. On it's own it's heavy and brittle and adds very little strength. So all that you would accomplish is to make your model heavier. The wood fibers of the various materials used in the model are already held togehter by their own natural "glue" just fine.