HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old May 19, 2012, 10:10 PM
United States, TX, Waco
Joined Mar 2012
115 Posts
Discussion
questions about aeilrons and rolls

I have a question that Is probably simple to some of you but I am still new and learning...My question is this.
If you increase the throw of the aeilrons,, will the plane roll faster, or will it actually create more drag, and roll slower,, thanks I have a dx6i so I can adjust them all the way from 0-125% even though at 100% throw the aielron moves more than the recommended throw in the assembly book.. Thanks for the help guys,, like I said I am still learning. I can fly my planes, I just want to be doing it right..
raron455 is offline Find More Posts by raron455
to remove ads between posts
Old May 19, 2012, 10:14 PM
"Landing" in a tree somewhere
Rochester, NY
Joined Sep 2009
946 Posts
Both actually, you do get more authority but it also creates more drag, overall you will still roll faster, to a point as djacobox points out. The rate at which you roll also depends on how fast you are flying as well. What plane are you flying?
Rayne is offline Find More Posts by Rayne
Old May 19, 2012, 10:14 PM
Joined Mar 2009
368 Posts
Anything past 45 degrees is mostly braking, before that you will see an increase roll speed.
djacobox372 is offline Find More Posts by djacobox372
Old May 20, 2012, 05:41 AM
United Kingdom, England, Brighton
Joined Apr 2007
1,133 Posts
As others have said, there is a limit to the amount of useful aileron throw, after which just drag will be created, and the airflow may even separate from the ailerons (similar to when a wing stalls).

The other way to increase roll rate would be to use longer ailerons (not always an option for scale planes and ARTFs). By 'longer' I mean in span, not width. That's why aerobatic types have ailerons that span almost all of the wing (e.g. Extra 300 etc.).
DeeBee1 is offline Find More Posts by DeeBee1
Old May 20, 2012, 08:05 AM
Canadian Bacon
Kingston, Canada