HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Dec 05, 2012, 08:37 PM
MultiCopterPilot & Film Maker
crazyj's Avatar
United States, CA, San Ramon
Joined Nov 2002
2,545 Posts
...
crazyj is offline Find More Posts by crazyj
Last edited by crazyj; Dec 06, 2012 at 12:03 AM.
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 05, 2012, 08:43 PM
Registered User
Daemon's Avatar
Lakewood, Colorado
Joined Aug 2002
29,080 Posts
Whatever update you're seeing isn't that new. It's not seeing a new update for my camera,
and last one was at least a couple weeks ago. It doesn't fix the lockups, at least
not all of them.

ian
Daemon is offline Find More Posts by Daemon
RCG Plus Member
Old Dec 05, 2012, 08:58 PM
Hovership
3rdeyepro's Avatar
United States, CA, Cupertino
Joined Aug 2010
1,024 Posts
I have checked ever since I got mine last weekend and haven't had an update available. Just checked now and still no update. I haven't used it enough to experience lockups but I have had the settings menu quit itself in the middle of me toggling through the options.
3rdeyepro is offline Find More Posts by 3rdeyepro
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 05, 2012, 09:03 PM
Registered User
Daemon's Avatar
Lakewood, Colorado
Joined Aug 2002
29,080 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3rdeyepro View Post
I haven't used it enough to experience lockups but I have had the settings menu quit itself in the middle of me toggling through the options.
That *is* a lockup..
It'll do it at other times as well, but randomly.
Daemon is offline Find More Posts by Daemon
RCG Plus Member
Old Dec 05, 2012, 10:45 PM
Hovership
3rdeyepro's Avatar
United States, CA, Cupertino
Joined Aug 2010
1,024 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daemon View Post
That *is* a lockup..
It'll do it at other times as well, but randomly.
Meant lockup as in lost live video out or freeze/stop during recording but yes my menu issue is definitely a bug. Has happened multiple times.
3rdeyepro is offline Find More Posts by 3rdeyepro
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 05, 2012, 11:40 PM
MultiCopterPilot & Film Maker
crazyj's Avatar
United States, CA, San Ramon
Joined Nov 2002
2,545 Posts
Have you guys tried entering the serial number manually into the GoPro update site? GoPro's site was detecting my camera normally but today I decided to enter the serial number instead, and was able to download an update. Wish there was a way to compare or check the firmware versions...
crazyj is offline Find More Posts by crazyj
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 05, 2012, 11:48 PM
Registered User
Daemon's Avatar
Lakewood, Colorado
Joined Aug 2002
29,080 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by crazyj View Post
Have you guys tried entering the serial number manually into the GoPro update site? GoPro's site was detecting my camera normally but today I decided to enter the serial number instead, and was able to download an update. Wish there was a way to compare or check the firmware versions...
There is. Look at the version.txt file in the MISC dir on the card.
Daemon is offline Find More Posts by Daemon
RCG Plus Member
Old Dec 06, 2012, 12:03 AM
MultiCopterPilot & Film Maker
crazyj's Avatar
United States, CA, San Ramon
Joined Nov 2002
2,545 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daemon View Post
There is. Look at the version.txt file in the MISC dir on the card.
Cool, guess I never saw that before. Looks like my camera is up to the latest - not new firmware (03.01.09).

I thought there was a new release -
crazyj is offline Find More Posts by crazyj
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 06, 2012, 12:14 AM
$#|+
mkmkmk13's Avatar
United States, CA, Orange
Joined May 2007
1,605 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by LoopForEver View Post
mkmkmk13 > Enable Protune in the menu to enable 4k/15fps CIN option.

Took a while to find out.
Thank you
mkmkmk13 is offline Find More Posts by mkmkmk13
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 06, 2012, 01:44 AM
Registered User
Spain, AL, Granada
Joined Mar 2007
366 Posts
Thanks for the heads up guys...fingers crossed.
petronio is offline Find More Posts by petronio
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 06, 2012, 09:57 AM
Registered User
yosemitez's Avatar
United States, CA
Joined Nov 2010
732 Posts
shooting 8 flights a day with the gopro3 black and no problems. shooting 1080 60fps and 2.7k with protune on
yosemitez is online now Find More Posts by yosemitez
RCG Plus Member
Old Dec 06, 2012, 02:39 PM
Happy Days
mudlark's Avatar
United Kingdom, High Wycombe
Joined Mar 2001
4,261 Posts
I have no problem with using GP3B as live feed FPV.

UAV Sheep Bot (7 min 32 sec)
mudlark is online now Find More Posts by mudlark
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 06, 2012, 02:45 PM
MultiCopterPilot & Film Maker
crazyj's Avatar
United States, CA, San Ramon
Joined Nov 2002
2,545 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mudlark View Post
I have no problem with using GP3B as live feed FPV.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8rbwh7simr4

You may sometime! I had 4 good flights with the GP3 on my quad until it locked up in flight and caused a crash! :-(

Now it's in my FPV Traxxas Summit until I can confirm there are no more lock ups.
crazyj is offline Find More Posts by crazyj
Last edited by crazyj; Dec 06, 2012 at 02:51 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 06, 2012, 03:03 PM
Happy Days
mudlark's Avatar
United Kingdom, High Wycombe
Joined Mar 2001
4,261 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by crazyj View Post
You may sometime! I had 4 good flights with the GP3 on my quad until it locked up in flight and caused a crash! :-(

Now it's in my FPV Traxxas Summit until I can confirm there are no more lock ups.
I'll keep that in mine. Cheers
mudlark is online now Find More Posts by mudlark
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 06, 2012, 03:41 PM
I tell her RC is cheap !
carguy1994ca's Avatar
Quebec, Canada
Joined Sep 2006
13,330 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mudlark View Post
I'll keep that in mine. Cheers
To be sure no one else dig it out ?
carguy1994ca is online now Find More Posts by carguy1994ca
RCG Plus Member
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sold *SOLD* NIB GoPro HD Hero 2 Motorsports Edition plus NIB GoPro Wifi Combo Kit. jbj620 FPV Equipment (FS/W) 2 Jun 11, 2012 12:54 PM
Discussion FPV using GOPRO HD Hero 2 + bacpac WIFI Link69 Multirotor Talk 4 Feb 26, 2012 08:24 PM
Build Log HD FunJet v2 (mini) build log with GoPro HERO HD jbpilot FPV Talk 14 Oct 31, 2010 10:36 AM
Cool GoPro HD Hero Wide - 6.3 oz HD video camera nemo_uk Aerial Photography 5 Sep 27, 2009 10:40 AM