HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jul 06, 2010, 02:54 PM
Cape Town, South Africa
Joined Sep 2006
204 Posts
Build Log
Scratch Build a J - Endeavour II

Hi Guys,
So I've decided to do a scratch build of a J, Endeavour II.
Confessions up front, I have little or no experience with RC yatchs, so this is partly for the fun of tracking the build process but also provides an opertunity to ask questions. I dont think I will have too much trouble with the hull, I probably need some assistance when it comes to rigging and trimming.
I'm in Cape Town South Africa and there are very few RC model clubs in the area so this is largely for my own enjoyment of building and sailing

All comments are most welcome.

I managed to get a set of plans from John Hanks from AMYA, I have decided to scale down the drawings and do a model that is 1700mm LOA.
The start of the project was to take the drawings and re-capture them in CAD so I could scale them to the desired size.
Adrian B. is offline Find More Posts by Adrian B.
Last edited by Adrian B.; Jul 06, 2010 at 03:16 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 06, 2010, 03:00 PM
Cape Town, South Africa
Joined Sep 2006
204 Posts
Build options

So this is going to be a plank on frame with some slight differences. I have basically decided that once the hull is planked, it will be glassed with fibreglass and epoxy and then taken off the frame. This will leave an empty hull that is not cluttered with the frames. The approach has some challanges but also some benefits such as weight saving.

Once I had the drawing scaled I had the forms printed out and glued to some MDF which will be used to create the frames.
Old Jul 06, 2010, 03:04 PM
Cape Town, South Africa
Joined Sep 2006
204 Posts
Setting up the forms on the strong back

The strongback has been build and the frames / forms attached
Old Jul 06, 2010, 03:07 PM
Cape Town, South Africa
Joined Sep 2006
204 Posts
Scale