New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
Old Mar 21, 2015, 05:11 AM
jj604 is offline
Find More Posts by jj604
ancora imparo
jj604's Avatar
Melbourne, Australia
Joined Jul 2005
7,582 Posts
Discussion
FrSky Smart Dashboard

Folks I'm starting a new thread on this rather specialised unit.

It sort of fits on the Taranis threads and sort of fits on the FrSky Telemetry and hub thread but not quite.

It is probably only of interest to XJT module owners who don't use it on a Taranis. Those of us who are interested have waited over a year for it and IMO it has some real problems.
Some of them may well be me but I thought it might be useful if we had a specialised discussion thread.

If folks disagree just let me know and I can close it.

FYI. I'm using mine with an XJT module internally mounted in a Multiplex EVO 12. (see picture).

Here's my thoughts so far:

1) Neat case and improved controls over the DHT-U generation.
2) Very convenient for adjusting the ID of SPort devices to avoid clashes.
3) Logging to the supplied Micro 1GB SD card is nice.
4) It is firmware upgradable through the Mini USP connector.

Initial gripes:
1) The display is awful. They promised an OLED display but this seems to be a backlit orange TFT. Impossible to read at all in bright daylight - where oddly enough I fly quite a lot.
2) Screen layout is out of the 70's. Looks just like one of those 80 character IBM CRT orange monitors. Given the number of pixels surely they could have provided one or two screens with full height or half height "read at a glance" display of attitude, consumption, time??
3) The voice is reasonably clear and loud but totally inflexible so doesn't make up for the crappy display. You can only set it to readout selected variables and an interval. ALL readouts occur at that interval and would drive you batty in flight.
4) Alarms can be set for a number of variables and all have a normal and critical value. However some really useful ones are missing - like battery consumption.

Possible bugs?
Mine insists on announcing I have an "Attitude error". Well it may be right about that but it isn't what I expect.

By experimentation I figured out is caused by the standard Height alarm so assume it is supposed to be saying "Altitude error"??
However my Height alarm is set to 400ft and this happens on the ground. Also the Valt display is approx -300ft and I assume this is the absolute barometric height reading at today's temp and pressure. It seems to be varying with height as expected. I cannot figure out how to set an AGL as opposed to ASL height reading.

Anybody know if it is possible?

Be interested in the experiences of anyone else who is having success (or otherwise) with this new unit. So far it is a big disappointment to me - especially compared with my Taranis experience of telemetry.

John
jj604 is offline Find More Posts by jj604
Last edited by jj604; Mar 21, 2015 at 05:19 AM.
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 21, 2015, 06:36 AM
nigelsheffield is offline
Find More Posts by nigelsheffield
Registered User
yorkshire UK
Joined Oct 2007
5,629 Posts
The attitude error might be related to the -300 reading on the altitude.
As for the rest it needs serious reworking of the fw and a big disappointment on the none oled display.
I was considering this as a second display on the taranis so that it could display in big oled easy to read numbers something important to see at a glance, guessm thats out then!
nigelsheffield is offline Find More Posts by nigelsheffield
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2015, 08:27 AM
John J. is offline
Find More Posts by John J.
Registered User
Joined Mar 2015
9 Posts
Looking to hire Taranis programmer asap

Hey Guys,

My first post here, I was referred to this thread from phantompilots.com.

I'm getting a new Phantom 2 with Zenmuse gimbal + Taranis x8r + Lightbridge. Unfortunately the system will only be arriving about 1 week before I leave for Arizona, where I want to fly/film in the desert.

I'll eventually get into learning the Taranis programming, but I definitely won't have time before leaving for AZ. I wanted to take time the week before leaving to get accustomed to flying with the Taranis/Lightbridge. The X8R is being installed professionally into the Phantom 2 by my dealer. I'm looking for switch/button/voice functions I'm sure many Taranis users here probably have working already.

Anyone available for hire with lots of experience setting up this system? Thanks.
John J. is offline Find More Posts by John J.
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2015, 03:13 PM
jj604 is offline
Find More Posts by jj604
ancora imparo
jj604's Avatar
Melbourne, Australia
Joined Jul 2005
7,582 Posts
You would have more luck posting in one of the main threads.

Like this one
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2178865
jj604 is offline Find More Posts by jj604
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2015, 09:34 AM
John J. is offline
Find More Posts by John J.
Registered User
Joined Mar 2015
9 Posts
Thanks jj,

Followed your advice and posted there.
John J. is offline Find More Posts by John J.
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2015, 11:36 AM
Gordysoar is online now
Find More Posts by Gordysoar
Registered User
Gordysoar's Avatar
USA, KY, Louisville
Joined Oct 2002
816 Posts
Dashboard or Firmware Wallet?

I am a Taranis, so don't need extra displays but saw the Dashboard a real tool for guys who have a lot of Taranis RX's and Sensors.

Without it a user as described as above, when a firmware update for the XJT, RX, or Sensor Firmwares came out we would have to unplug, digout, etc, all of the devices.

With the Dashboard as Firmware Wallet, you simply take it to the devices, still embedded deep inside your models fuselages.

It turns out that it does work that way but after a bunch of silly steps since you can't write to the Dashboard's SD card directly through the Dashboard.

AND you have to monitor Fr/Sky's Firmware pages with last update numbers for each device.

Once you happen to find a firmware you feel is needed or wanted,
you then have to download it from Fr/Sky,
then take the card out of the dashboard,
then put the card in a SD card USB adapter,
and plug that into your computer,
then download the new Firmware onto the card,
then put the card back into the Dashboard.

Phew! Not too big of a deal but if Fr/Sky were to make a Firmware Subscription of sorts to notify us, and make it possible to download updates directly from Computer to Dashboard, then it would indeed become a mobile Firmware Wallet. A truly valuable tool.

In the meantime it still is a Firmware Wallet, just a clunky one :-)
Glad I bought it. It allows me to mail it to friends who are not savy enough to go through the process. They just plug it into their smart ports, update then mail it on.

Hope Fr/Sky sees this, I'll be talking with them at the Toledo RC Expo in a few weeks.... "wallet" in hand :-).
Gordy
Gordysoar is online now Find More Posts by Gordysoar
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Check out my YouTube Channel
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2015, 04:05 PM
jj604 is offline
Find More Posts by jj604
ancora imparo
jj604's Avatar
Melbourne, Australia
Joined Jul 2005
7,582 Posts
Anyone figured out how to use the GPS distance field?
I can't find any way so far to get mine to zero before a flight.

Same for Vheight. I suspect we are stuck with absolute height based on the MSL which of course will vary depending on barometric pressure at the time.

Thanks

John
jj604 is offline Find More Posts by jj604
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2015, 11:33 AM
Rotozuk is offline
Find More Posts by Rotozuk
Rotozuk's Avatar
United States, CA, Novato
Joined Sep 2003
6,103 Posts
Highly recommend you share your thoughts with FrSky over on their forum. They have some firmware changes in the works. Maybe you guys can help them out with needed changes for the dashboard. Please let them know what you need!!

-Wayne
Rotozuk is offline Find More Posts by Rotozuk
Site Sponsor
Latest blog entry: FrSky @ Toledo 2015!!!!
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2015, 05:27 PM
jj604 is offline
Find More Posts by jj604
ancora imparo
jj604's Avatar
Melbourne, Australia
Joined Jul 2005
7,582 Posts
Thanks, Wayne. Will do.
The best part about the SmartDashboard is the Mini USB port - at least it should be easy to update.

John
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rotozuk View Post
Highly recommend you share your thoughts with FrSky over on their forum. They have some firmware changes in the works. Maybe you guys can help them out with needed changes for the dashboard. Please let them know what you need!!

-Wayne
jj604 is offline Find More Posts by jj604
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2015, 11:33 PM
Gordysoar is online now
Find More Posts by Gordysoar
Registered User
Gordysoar's Avatar
USA, KY, Louisville
Joined Oct 2002
816 Posts
I'll be seeing Fr/Sky at Toledo, you?

I will be stopping by the booth at the Toledo Weak Signals Expo. They are scheduled to have a booth.

Wayne are you going?
Gordy
Gordysoar is online now Find More Posts by Gordysoar
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Check out my YouTube Channel
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2015, 02:51 AM
nigelsheffield is offline
Find More Posts by nigelsheffield
Registered User
yorkshire UK
Joined Oct 2007
5,629 Posts
What could make the dash really useful would be a lua interpreter or something like, so then you are not restricted by frsky offering of fw.
Just give us control of the screen and sounds and all the telemetry info and we can make custom screens like on the taranis.
nigelsheffield is offline Find More Posts by nigelsheffield
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2015, 03:33 AM
michel49 is offline
Find More Posts by michel49
Registered User
Joined Jul 2011
298 Posts
What PC soft to be used to display the telemetry datas recorded ?
michel49 is offline Find More Posts by michel49
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2015, 12:32 PM
Rotozuk is offline
Find More Posts by Rotozuk
Rotozuk's Avatar
United States, CA, Novato
Joined Sep 2003
6,103 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gordysoar View Post
I will be stopping by the booth at the Toledo Weak Signals Expo. They are scheduled to have a booth.

Wayne are you going?
Gordy
Yep - I'll be there. Was not able to attend last year, but this is a fun show. Will be there with our friends from FrSky. The president, some hardware engineers and the main software engineer for the Horus.

-Wayne
Rotozuk is offline Find More Posts by Rotozuk
Site Sponsor
Latest blog entry: FrSky @ Toledo 2015!!!!
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2015, 05:13 PM
jj604 is offline
Find More Posts by jj604
ancora imparo
jj604's Avatar
Melbourne, Australia
Joined Jul 2005
7,582 Posts
Anyone else having problems with the FrSky server being down. It seems to happen a bit lately.
jj604 is offline Find More Posts by jj604
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2015, 09:46 PM
coriolan is online now
Find More Posts by coriolan
"Unnecessary Necessity"
coriolan's Avatar
Canada
Joined Sep 2006
6,348 Posts
Seems ok!
http://www.frsky-rc.com/
coriolan is online now Find More Posts by coriolan
Reply With Quote


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale Frsky XJT, x8r, s.port dashboard, volt/vario sensors Reduced Charlie6017 Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 4 Mar 04, 2015 06:09 AM
Sold FrSky XJT Tx, s.port dashboard and vario Reduced again Charlie6017 Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 1 Mar 03, 2015 01:56 AM
For Sale Frsky XJT, x8r, s.port dashboard, volt/vario sensors Charlie6017 Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 0 Feb 25, 2015 10:14 AM
Discussion New!! FrSky Telemetry Dashboard (FSD) Was Available Chase Wu FrSky 1 Feb 08, 2015 02:16 PM
Question Is FrSky telemetry any use without a dashboard? kozzie Multirotor Electronics 0 Jan 25, 2015 10:32 PM