HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Mar 28, 2005, 05:47 PM
Corpus Christi, Texas, United States
Joined May 2003
1,245 Posts
Building a Bob Martin Pussycat

I just got a bob martin pussycat in the mail today and am looking to get started. Has anyone built one of these with a 3 piece wing before? For those not familar, it is a 2m 3 panel wing with panels of equal length. I seem to recall that the Two Tee with simlar wing used 1/4" wooden dowels for joiners and the Gentle Lady used 1/8" wires. Both seem a little weak, anyone have experience? Maybe some 1/4" carbon dowels?

Kristopher
rcsoar4fun is online now Find More Posts by rcsoar4fun
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 29, 2005, 08:50 PM
I'm a pilot... 100 yrs to late
USA, FL, Palm Harbor
Joined Jan 2005
3,423 Posts
Here is some information on modifications to make to the pussycat to assist in longevity and flyability. I currently have bobcat waiting to be covered.. similar but the bobact has a flatter wing looks like w/ailerons. (search on pussycat within the page below)

http://www.ccdemo.info/SportsAndHobb...Sailplane.html

Mike
Thermalin is offline Find More Posts by Thermalin
Old Mar 29, 2005, 09:16 PM
Joined May 2003
1,245 Posts
Thanks for the info, I will read through it. I started on the fuse last night, the ply sides where badly warped.

My first airplane was a Bobcat. Interesting airplane, flew okay, but required a lot of aileron differential, IIRC.

Kristopher
Old Mar 29, 2005, 09:33 PM
USA, FL, Palm Harbor
Joined Jan 2005
3,423 Posts
I'll keep that in mind when I get aroiund to hooking it up.. .thanks for the heads up !
Old Apr 03, 2005, 12:33 PM
Joined May 2003
1,245 Posts
I decided to go with a 5/16 hollow 6061-T6 aluminum rods at the poly breaks. If it looks like they will be too flexible I will add some carbon in the middle of the rods, but I seriously doubt it will be an issue.

Kristopher
Old Apr 15, 2005, 12:27 PM
USA, FL, Palm Harbor
Joined Jan 2005
3,423 Posts
Any pics?
Mike