HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Aug 14, 2014, 09:14 AM
Ultra Violet
Electromagnetic's Avatar
Joined Feb 2013
2,515 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyKunz View Post
Because it's a lower-end radio. You'll have to fix mechanical linkages to take care of the aileron differences (which will also make them match in your radio, instead of differing).

Andy
Wasn't the DX8 the flagship at one time? At least an update could make these compromised settings more Sailplane user friendly, considering it now has Sailplane settings.
Electromagnetic is online now Find More Posts by Electromagnetic
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 14, 2014, 09:19 AM
AndyKunz's Avatar
Illinois
Joined Sep 2001
23,614 Posts
At one time, yes (long before we added Sailplane). Then the DX10t was. Then the DX18QQ was. Right now it's the DX18G2.

Andy
AndyKunz is offline Find More Posts by AndyKunz
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2014, 09:23 AM
Ultra Violet
Electromagnetic's Avatar
Joined Feb 2013
2,515 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyKunz View Post
At one time, yes (long before we added Sailplane). Then the DX10t was. Then the DX18QQ was. Right now it's the DX18G2.

Andy
Okay but I think an update is in order for the DX8 owners who have sailplanes.
Electromagnetic is online now Find More Posts by Electromagnetic
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2014, 10:06 AM
AndyKunz's Avatar
Illinois
Joined Sep 2001
23,614 Posts
Thank you for your input.

Andy
AndyKunz is offline Find More Posts by AndyKunz
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2014, 10:28 AM
Ultra Violet
Electromagnetic's Avatar
Joined Feb 2013
2,515 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyKunz View Post
Thank you for your input.

Andy
Your welcome, as a devoted Spektrum user, I frequently make useful suggestions for improvements to the Spektrum transmitters. Spektrum's user base really is a great resource for market and development research. I am glad you appreciate my opinions.
Electromagnetic is online now Find More Posts by Electromagnetic
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2014, 09:27 AM
Registered User
HuskyDude's Avatar
Canada, BC, Kamloops
Joined Jan 2011
302 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Electromagnetic View Post
Okay but I think an update is in order for the DX8 owners who have sailplanes.
Good point. It wouldn't take much to modify an existing program I would think. But don't forget about the electric sail planes too. Planes like the Pro Radian and V Roc by FMS/MOTIONRC are very popular. A specific program for those would be nice too.
HuskyDude is offline Find More Posts by HuskyDude
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2014, 09:28 AM
AndyKunz's Avatar
Illinois
Joined Sep 2001
23,614 Posts
There isn't room in the DX8 to extend Sailplane to have all the features of the DX9. It's a hardware limitation.

Andy
AndyKunz is offline Find More Posts by AndyKunz
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2014, 09:29 AM
Ultra Violet
Electromagnetic's Avatar
Joined Feb 2013
2,515 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by HuskyDude View Post
Good point. It wouldn't take much to modify an existing program I would think. But don't forget about the electric sail planes too. Planes like the Pro Radian and V Roc by FMS/MOTIONRC sail are very popular a specific program for those would be nice.
They have that covered, as far as assigning throttle (if applicable) to a specific switch. I am working on a Radian Pro now for a friend. I have my own set up on my DX18G2.
Electromagnetic is online now Find More Posts by Electromagnetic
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2014, 09:31 AM
Ultra Violet
Electromagnetic's Avatar
Joined Feb 2013
2,515 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyKunz View Post
There isn't room in the DX8 to extend Sailplane to have all the features of the DX9. It's a hardware limitation.

Andy
Not even separate trims for Flight Modes? This could balance out the discrepancies in the Ailerons.
Electromagnetic is online now Find More Posts by Electromagnetic
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2014, 11:06 AM
Registered User
richard hanson's Avatar
United States, UT, Salt Lake City
Joined Oct 2007
6,906 Posts
Just bend to position wanted
or hammer - whatever -
richard hanson is online now Find More Posts by richard hanson
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2014, 02:15 PM
DS will change your life
SpeedsterDEN's Avatar
Danmark, Nordjylland, Sæby
Joined May 2010
1,588 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Electromagnetic View Post
Not even separate trims for Flight Modes? This could balance out the discrepancies in the Ailerons.
Go to trim set up.
Set the trim type from common to flt mode.....
SpeedsterDEN is online now Find More Posts by SpeedsterDEN
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2014, 02:48 PM
Ultra Violet
Electromagnetic's Avatar
Joined Feb 2013
2,515 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpeedsterDEN View Post
Go to trim set up.
Set the trim type from common to flt mode.....
Thanks a lot, I didn't realize that option was in the DX8.
Electromagnetic is online now Find More Posts by Electromagnetic
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2014, 03:23 PM
Registered User
United States, LA, Jena
Joined Jan 2011
36 Posts
Awesome Strap

Just wanted to brag on the new tx strap made by pegleg! Super comfortable and superior function!
sperry12 is offline Find More Posts by sperry12
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2014, 08:17 AM
Redjestird Youser
SidewaysLS4's Avatar
Joined Jan 2009
3,877 Posts
I got one of those new vario altitude sensors and updated the airware to the lastest version. I will be using the telemetry only for altitude and the usual frames/holds data. I would like the altitude to display on the telemetry screen that has the timer showing along with the frames/holds data...can this happen, or will I have to scroll back and forth to see altitude and timer info? This is on a DX8
SidewaysLS4 is offline Find More Posts by SidewaysLS4
Last edited by SidewaysLS4; Aug 24, 2014 at 08:25 AM. Reason: add radio model
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2014, 08:36 AM
AndyKunz's Avatar
Illinois
Joined Sep 2001
23,614 Posts
No, there is not a way at this time to make customized telemetry screens.

Andy
AndyKunz is offline Find More Posts by AndyKunz
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question Receivers that work with Spektrum Radios that are not made by Spektrum BD Flyer Radios 29 Sep 26, 2010 04:09 AM
Discussion Spektrum AR6100E or Spektrum AR6100? LaurenceGough Off-road Cars 23 Aug 06, 2009 05:33 AM
For Sale Parkzone 5ch DX10 w/Receiver ch54 CarlHill Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 7 Jul 10, 2009 12:07 PM
Discussion Can I use a Spektrum Air RX with a Spektrum Surface TX? Bigmaxy Radios 1 Jan 19, 2008 07:57 PM
Sold GeForce 8400Gs PCIx DX10 video card GFBurke Non R/C Items (FS/W) 6 Sep 05, 2007 10:43 PM