HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jan 06, 2013, 03:19 PM
RC Junkie
United States, NC, Kinston
Joined Jan 2013
9 Posts
Help!
Need to know the set up for a Hydro Plane Foamie.

I am building a Hydroplane out of 3mm depron foam. I am 3/4 through the build and am at the point where I must decide what motor, ESC, Prop, Battery, I must or can use. I am at a blank as I have never built this craft before. Any ideas on what would be a good set up for pushing this thing?
SHoffman1971 is offline Find More Posts by SHoffman1971
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 06, 2013, 03:32 PM
Australia, ACT, Kambah
Joined Feb 2001
3,176 Posts
Welcome to RC Groups. For these sort of problems you'll need to provide a lot more information to get useful help - more info about the problem is always better than less.

Do you have an idea, eg from the build instructions how much power you need?

Is there a constraint on prop size, and if so, what prop size will fit?

Is there a weight constraint on the power system, whether motor or battery or both?

If you have limited clues on the above, what about at least the lifting surface area and expected weight?

If you can fill in some of the blanks, I'm sure you'll end up getting several useful options
scirocco is offline Find More Posts by scirocco
Old Jan 06, 2013, 06:02 PM
RC Junkie
Joined Jan 2013
9 Posts
Ok. I think that AUW should be about 220g. However, seeing as its not going to fly, that weight can be refigured. I would like a 2:1 thrust ratio. There were no other descriptions in the plans. This is all I know. I am really flying by the seat of my pants on this build. Never built one before and trying to get ideas from others who might have built one and what the pros and cons were from some of their setups.
Old Jan 07, 2013, 10:45 PM
If it spins, wear it.
Northern Nevada
Joined Jan 2011
2,258 Posts