Old Aug 15, 2013, 04:44 AM
Find More Posts by ScorpioFIN
Pysy ilmassa, perkele!
Finland, Köyliö
Joined Jun 2013
362 Posts
Mini-Review
Mini-review WLToys V911-1 (green) with updated transmitter

So, I'm an absolute helicopter novice, but I thought I'd still write a few words about this one. I apologize for my inexperience and I'll gladly take any advice about how to make a proper review.

Anyway, this spring I bought a V911 for my 9 year old daughter as a birthday present. It was such fun to fly that as soon as I noticed the green V911-1 at Banggood I decided to get one, as it was sold with the same TX as the V912 which is said to be quite good. The one I ordered was this:

http://www.banggood.com/WLtoys-V911-...n-p-74078.html

The parcel arrived last friday, retail box wrapped in thin foam and the yellow tape we are so familiar with (someone must be making a lot of money selling that tape to Banggood...). The box was in perfect shape, no complaints on that department.

The contents were as expected; the copter, TX, two batteries and an extra set of blades (main and tail). The TX is quite a bit bigger than the earlier V911's, nicely shaped and has a surprisingly solid feel of quality for its price. The sticks have decent travel and don't feel "rubbery" or sloppy at all. The throttle has a "ratchety" feel, there are tiny notches along the travel. I think that's actually a plus for an inexperienced flyer, since it helps a bit to hold the throttle steady when using rudder and overall throttle control is a little easier. Those notches are so close together that there really is no problem with getting just the right amount of throttle.

The copter itself flies almost perfectly out-of-the-box. Really didn't need much trim at all, just a couple of clicks here and there and I could give it to my daughter right away.