HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jan 15, 2014, 11:38 AM
I miss my planes...
Canada, ON, Milton
Joined Dec 2006
509 Posts
Discussion
Avro CF-100 in rough planning stage

Ok, this is a long way off and probably further off depending on what kind of answers I get from this thread, but I'm near enough that I'd like to float the idea and see how many holes I have in it.

For starters, I would like to have a flying CF-100. It's not the prettiest jet, but it's the only Canadian designed jet fighter to go into mass production and was used by both the RCAF and the Belgium air force. There are a rarity of available plans and while there are some large turbine powered aircraft that surface from time to time, there is nothing within my more modest funds and skills.

Recently I located an older free flight plan on outerzone.
www.outerzone.co.uk/plan_details.asp?ID=3976

Being I have no experience in EDFs, the twin 64mm fans and the larger batteries are a bit daunting for me. So, I'm considering scaling this down about 50% and using 30mm fans. I'd use the plans more as a three view in ways, making the fuselage semi-profile and likely a simple KF styled airfoil on the wings to try to save some weight and reduce complexity of a build.

I do have some electronics as options for the small scale aircraft. Not saying I have to use the below, but I have them.
1x AR6400
2x CC Pixie 9Ps
1x simple Orange 4 channel RX

I would have to buy the fans and motors. One way or another I have a RX for the plane... but if I go for the Orange clearly I will need a couple of very small servos and I think the 5g servos I have in my shop are a bit large.

I'd much rather go small, light and low powered. I'm not looking for rocket speeds either. I'm content having to dive to loop.

Any recommendations, suggestions or corrections? Or am I crazy? I'd obviously prefer to do as little modifications as possible to make the fans spin as possible. Stock EDF units with plug in motors preferred.