HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jul 25, 2006, 08:11 PM
Joined Jul 2006
6 Posts
Discussion
castor straight

Hi,

I am new to the hobby, and have got a trainer equipped with a Super Custom .46 2-stroke engine. The engine currently runs fine on 10% nitromethane fuel, but this is expensive from my local model shop at 4/$7 per 500ml (i live in the UK). Would the engine run well on castor straight (80/20)? This is much cheaper and i can get it cheap either mixed or the separate substances.

Thanks.
jcow is offline Find More Posts by jcow
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 26, 2006, 04:18 AM
Staffs, UK
Joined Nov 2003
10,762 Posts
You don't say who your local model shop is but you're being ripped off. I too live in the UK and I've never paid more than about 15 quid per GALLON (4.5 litres) for fuel. See http://www.modeltechnics.com/ for the proper retail prices. It sounds like you may be buying CAR race fuel which is not only very expensive in small quantities but it's also very bad for your engine because it doesn't contain nearly enough oil.

Anyway my SC .46 doesn't like straight fuel (tricky starting) but it's fine on the (less than 10/gallon) 5% nitro fuel that I use for almost everything.

Steve
slipstick is offline Find More Posts by slipstick
Old Jul 26, 2006, 05:49 AM
Dublin, Ireland
Joined Mar 2002
452 Posts
You could try using castor straight with your existing Super Custom.
but with less nitro the engines compression will drop somewhat.
So you would have to put in a hotter glowplug to compensate for this, and minimise the compression reduction.
With a Model Technics M7 or M6 glowplug, or an Enya No 3 glowplug things should be ok for summer use.

If you were to get a high compression engine eg MVVS that would be an ideal solution, because these engines are designed so as to not need much nitro or any at all. And straight would be perfect, with maybe 2% - 5% nitro in wintertime, with the normal glowplugs.