HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Feb 08, 2005, 12:15 AM
Registered User
Joined Feb 2005
26 Posts
Help!
Capacitors

I need to know how the capacitors must be installed in the motor, the manual says 3 capacitors are needed but how is the wiring for those ?.....
Boomix is offline Find More Posts by Boomix
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 08, 2005, 12:28 AM
Registered User
Austin, TX, USA
Joined Feb 2001
415 Posts
Connect one capacitor between the two motor terminals, and one capacitor from each of the two terminals to the motor case.

Welcome to Ezone.
Bob Baker is offline Find More Posts by Bob Baker
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 08, 2005, 12:29 AM
Village Idiot
rookbartley989's Avatar
3 Sheets to the Wind!
Joined Oct 2004
631 Posts
Solder one cap to the negative pole and the motors can, solder another cap to the positive pole and the motors can, solder the last cap to the positive and negative poles.

Ron -
rookbartley989 is offline Find More Posts by rookbartley989
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 08, 2005, 12:30 AM
Village Idiot
rookbartley989's Avatar
3 Sheets to the Wind!
Joined Oct 2004
631 Posts
opps my bad, answered while typing...
rookbartley989 is offline Find More Posts by rookbartley989
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 08, 2005, 02:45 AM
1Point Landing Specialist
Joined Nov 2004
452 Posts
caps are good for your motor and reduce radio glitching from arcing right?

why do they have such an effect? can someone explain this?
snowball1288 is offline Find More Posts by snowball1288
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 08, 2005, 02:52 AM
Flying motor mount master
fly_boy99's Avatar
San Jose, California, United States
Joined Oct 2004
8,745 Posts
If you are talking about Mabuchi motors which GWS, Graupner, and others use then I would say 2. One leg to the posts and then you can either:

Take the opposite posts and tie them together and solder to two points on the can

or

Take the opposite posts wind them together and solder the ground to one point on the can


There is a ongoing feud between Jimsky and I over how to do the J250 but it seems there are grounding posts internally on the J250s and hence you only need one across both terminals. Maybe I just have some weird J250's then???

fb
fly_boy99 is offline Find More Posts by fly_boy99
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 08, 2005, 03:47 AM
Registered User
Perth, Australia
Joined Mar 2004
872 Posts
Snowball, to try to answer your question.
The capacitors short circuit the voltage spikes caused by the arcing before the spikes can travel up the motor and ESC wires and cause interference to your receiver which is usually connected to the ESC via the BEC and throttle control wires. If the spikes are severe enough they can also radiate through the air and be picked up by the receiver antenna. that is why you should keep your receiver and the antenna as far from the ESC and motor as possible.

Ron...
Cas123 is offline Find More Posts by Cas123
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 08, 2005, 06:08 AM
Registered User
vintage1's Avatar
East Anglia, UK
Joined Sep 2002
29,705 Posts
In addition, when yiu break an indctive circuit - and windings are very inductive - you can get a huge voltage spike. The capacitors help to limit that which actally reduces sparking a bit.
vintage1 is offline Find More Posts by vintage1
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2005, 11:40 PM
Registered User
Joined Feb 2005
26 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Baker
Connect one capacitor between the two motor terminals, and one capacitor from each of the two terminals to the motor case.

Welcome to Ezone.

Ok, Thanks I already did it and works very well
Boomix is offline Find More Posts by Boomix
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2005, 11:45 PM
Registered User
Joined Feb 2005
26 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rookbartley989
Solder one cap to the negative pole and the motors can, solder another cap to the positive pole and the motors can, solder the last cap to the positive and negative poles.

Ron -

Thanks Ron, I made it like you said and works very good
Boomix is offline Find More Posts by Boomix
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 09, 2005, 12:27 AM
Steve
dsswest's Avatar
Sacramento, CA
Joined Apr 2005
145 Posts
Confused on capacitence

Hea guys,

I'm new to RC, so be gentle. I have a few electrical questions.

When running my plane, at different speeds, I get chatter in the flight surfaces without any movement of the sticks on the radio.

1. Is this from the motor as you suggest elsewhere in this posting?

2. I replaced a speed 600 motor in my superstar EP with a Graupner motor. There were two leads coming out of the can, one each near each motor lead. Is that a terminal to terminal internal cap or a set of terminal to can caps?

3. The motor destructions says to use a 47uf cap (from memory - don't have the destructions in front of me now). Does that sound right?

The radio shack guy sold me a pair of 47uf electrolytic caps, but after reading your threads, I'm suspicious about installing them. Should I go find some ceramic caps instead, and what capacitence rating?

Thanks
dsswest is offline Find More Posts by dsswest
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 09, 2005, 04:30 AM
Registered User
Staffs, UK
Joined Nov 2003
10,762 Posts
1. Probably

2. Speed 600s are made by Graupner. Anyway, those are the leads from 2 internal capacitors connected to the can (at least they are on all my Graupner S600s).

3. The instructions almost certainly said 47 nF (nanofarad) not 47uF (microfarad). You're out by a factor of 1000. Don't try 47uF electrolytics they'll blow up (which makes you calling the instruction, "destructions" pretty appropriate ). Get a ceramic 47nF (0.047uF) capacitor across the terminals. Actually any value between about 0.01 uF and 0.47uF will do like it says in the Electric Flight FAQ http://www.ezonemag.com/pages/efaq.htm#motor18

Steve
slipstick is offline Find More Posts by slipstick
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 09, 2005, 08:47 AM
Steve
dsswest's Avatar
Sacramento, CA
Joined Apr 2005
145 Posts
Exploding capacity

Thanks Slipstick. Explosions in the hangar tend to make the wife nervious!

Only off by a factor of 1000, not bad given my track record!

I'll take your advise and chase down some ceramic 47nfs.
dsswest is offline Find More Posts by dsswest
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 09, 2005, 02:19 PM
Registered User
God's gift to mankind for flying anything.
Joined Aug 2004
3,090 Posts
There is definitively some kind of connection between the case and one of the terminals. Which one I do not know. Have to wait until I burn one up and then disassemble. Measure and you find a dead short. So one only is sufficient accross the terminals.


Quote:
Originally Posted by fly_boy99
There is a ongoing feud between Jimsky and I over how to do the J250 but it seems there are grounding posts internally on the J250s and hence you only need one across both terminals. Maybe I just have some weird J250's then??? fb
indoruwet is offline Find More Posts by indoruwet
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 09, 2005, 04:27 PM
Registered User
Staffs, UK
Joined Nov 2003
10,762 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by indoruwet
There is definitively some kind of connection between the case and one of the terminals.
That's not true for most can motors, certainly not for the S600s we're now talking about. It's not even true for all J250s if that's what you meant.

Steve
slipstick is offline Find More Posts by slipstick
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools