HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 23, 2012, 06:39 AM
No risk, no fun
Siggy101's Avatar
Switzerland, VD, Chéserex
Joined Jan 2011
246 Posts
Discussion
Quick and stupid rx question

OK OK, I'm being dim but I just wanted to check before shelling out the wonga.
I am starting on the next build, a 2.6m Alex XXL pure glider from NAN models. She has a 4 servo wing and x tail (so 6 channel). Am I right in thinking that a Spektrum AR6255 rx is perfectly adequate to give me full span ailerons, camber control, flaps, crow etc etc? I have a DX7 so am aware of the limitations I have there for the number of mixes.

I presume I can bring th power to the system via the Bind connectors. I don't need 7 channels?

Thanks for the help guys.
Siggy101 is offline Find More Posts by Siggy101
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 23, 2012, 06:50 AM
slope'n the Colombian Andes
ShredAir's Avatar
Colombia, Antioquia, Girardota
Joined Mar 2001
4,710 Posts
In any system, the receiver is not the limiting factor, it's the transmitter. I don't know a DX7 from Adam, but if it allows you to freely assign servos to the receiver channels, then a 6-channel receiver will do; otherwise probably not.

Dieter Mahlein, ShredAir
ShredAir is offline Find More Posts by ShredAir
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2012, 08:19 AM
F3B
satinet's Avatar
Warwickshire, England
Joined Sep 2006
5,540 Posts
You can bring power in from one of the servo leads (a y lead).

As Dieter says it will depend on the TX.

Check this link
http://www.rc-soar.com/spektrum/index.htm
Maybe it can be done. That article uses channel 7.
satinet is offline Find More Posts by satinet
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2012, 08:24 AM
No risk, no fun
Siggy101's Avatar
Switzerland, VD, Chéserex
Joined Jan 2011
246 Posts
Thanks for the pointers guys. The Y lead is a nice simple solution, I like them!
I have read that article, hence the thought that it should work. I have a 4 servo wing on a foamie and crow works perfectly but I have not tried to program in flapperons.

I'm sure a Spektrum DX7 owner out there must have done this, I just wanted to know if I need a 7 channel rx or not...
Siggy101 is offline Find More Posts by Siggy101
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2012, 11:07 AM
Registered User
Crash Prone's Avatar
United States, WA, Port Orchard
Joined Feb 2011
844 Posts
My guess is that you're going to run out of mixes on the DX7 before you get all functions working like you want.

Running a Radian Pro on the DX7 w/ a 7 channel receiver uses every available mix slot. Also, it limits you to putting crow on a switch, which may be ok for a slow foamie, but will not be good for a 2.5m slippery moldie. I also can't program flapperons, cause I'm out of mixes. Although... I never use ail-rud mix, so I could free up that mix for something else.

Bottom line, when I bought my first moldie (Erwin), I upgraded from the DX7 to an Aurora 9. Couldn't be happier! Keep the DX7 for your combat wings, power planes, park fliers and helis.
Crash Prone is offline Find More Posts by Crash Prone
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2012, 11:12 AM
No risk, no fun
Siggy101's Avatar
Switzerland, VD, Chéserex
Joined Jan 2011
246 Posts
Thanks Crash, that is very useful info.
Oddly, I was 99% sure an Erwin was going to be my first mouldie but the Alex XXL allowed me to get an extra 60cm span for less money.

I too do not use rudder to aileron mixing. I fly full scale too and the idea of mixing those 2 controls does not sit well with me.
I am not sure that full span flapperons are essential, more of a nice to have really.

So long as I can do as I have with my Blaster 2 and have crow (instead of flaps) on the left stick, I'm happy.
It sounds like a 6 ch rx is perfectly adequate and the limitation is indeed in the TX.
Yep, I will have to upgrade my tranny at some point soon. It stinks to have gotten such little life out of my DX7 but she has allowed me to learn a wicked hobby...
Siggy101 is offline Find More Posts by Siggy101
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2012, 11:35 AM
F3B
satinet's Avatar
Warwickshire, England
Joined Sep 2006
5,540 Posts
you won't find many glider people flying a DX7.
Not for no reason.........
satinet is offline Find More Posts by satinet
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2012, 11:36 AM
No risk, no fun
Siggy101's Avatar
Switzerland, VD, Chéserex
Joined Jan 2011
246 Posts
Yep, I realised the issue shortly after moving across to sailplanes. Way way way more fun than powered flight but I need to 'retool' now, D'oh!
Siggy101 is offline Find More Posts by Siggy101
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2012, 12:10 PM
Carbon User
Pilebuck's Avatar
YAL
Joined Jun 2005
729 Posts
If you already own a bunch of Spektrum stuff, then consider a used X9303 or the newer X9503. These are available relatively cheap and will take you a long way down the road.

From the 9303 manual:

Important: In glider mode, the channel assignment
(servo lead positions in the receiver) of the X9303
2.4 is different than previous JR radios. This new
channel assignment allows a 6-channel receiver to be used to
control the 6 functions commonly found on
full-function Sailplanes.

Install the servos in the correct location in the receiver per
the chart and illustration below:

Servo Channel # Receiver Position
Left Aileron 1 Throttle
Right Aileron 2 Aileron
Elevator 3 Elevator
Rudder 4 Rudder
Right Flap 5 Gear
Left Flap 6 Flap/ Aux. 1


These radios also have lots of "canned mixes" that make it really easy to set up a F3X model.
Pilebuck is offline Find More Posts by Pilebuck
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: HF Ventus
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2012, 01:04 PM
DS will change your life
SpeedsterDEN's Avatar
Danmark, Nordjylland, Sæby
Joined May 2010
1,681 Posts
DX7 glider setup

I use DX7 with 6 ch rx on my gliders.
The flaps are on the thottle stick.
When you use the elevator, the flaps is also mooving (snapflaps)
When you use the flaps, the elevator compensate. (for elevator trim)
When you use the ailerons, the flaps are also mooving as aileron.(all wing aileron)
Spoilers (up aileron, are on the flt mode switch) So full crow are possible if full flaps dont give enough braking.

My set up is:
wing setup is flapperons.
Aileron servos are in Aile and Aux

Flaps servos are in thro and gear.

The % in the mixing, are the settings I using in my Vector lll, and may not be the setup you have to use in your glider, but it will be very close.
Max throw/ reversing/ subtrim, will change the % and +/ - set up

Mix 1
thot/gear +58% +88% This make the gear flap go with the thro flap.
(in the mix you have to offset the gear +125%)

Mix 2
aile/gear +23 +19 offset +11 This make the gear flap go as aileron

Mix 3
Aile/thro -18 -25 This make thro flap go as aileron.

Mix 4
Elev/thro +36 +24 This make the flaps go as Snapflaps

Mix 5
Elev/gear +36 +33 This make the flaps go as Snapflaps

Mix 6
Thro/elev 0 - 36 This give the elevator a bit down, when using the flaps.

Spoilers,
Are in the FLAP system MIX
Norm UP100% DH44
land 0 0
Land 25 0

And if you also want the ailerons go as snapflaps, you can mix it in the Elev/flap MIX

And the towing coupling are on a y lead together with the thro (gear if it go the wrong direction), so when you give full flaps you release the tow.

Good luck
S



Towing the Vector lll (2 min 8 sec)
SpeedsterDEN is offline Find More Posts by SpeedsterDEN
Last edited by SpeedsterDEN; Jan 23, 2012 at 02:33 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2012, 01:10 PM
No risk, no fun
Siggy101's Avatar
Switzerland, VD, Chéserex
Joined Jan 2011
246 Posts
Den, that is the most helpful post ever!
Thanks so much for confirming my hopes that a 6 ch rx will do all that I need it to for now with my DX7.

Nice flying too!!
Siggy101 is offline Find More Posts by Siggy101
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2012, 01:15 PM
DS will change your life
SpeedsterDEN's Avatar
Danmark, Nordjylland, Sæby
Joined May 2010
1,681 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Siggy101 View Post
Den, that is the most helpful post ever!
Thanks so much for confirming my hopes that a 6 ch rx will do all that I need it to for now with my DX7.

Nice flying too!!
Thanks


I will start a new thread with the glider set up,
Questions, just ask
SpeedsterDEN is offline Find More Posts by SpeedsterDEN
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2013, 08:37 AM
No risk, no fun
Siggy101's Avatar
Switzerland, VD, Chéserex
Joined Jan 2011
246 Posts
To wrap it up...

Hi all, just for completeness and to help anyone who drags this thread up on a search in the future:
I had great success flying the Alex XXL with the DX7 and AR6255. The only thing I never got round to programming was full span ailerons (inc flaps). Crow worked perfectly.

I have now got a DX18 and most of the hard work is done for you in mixes ready to go right out of the box. You just enable them and set the throws. I have now re-programmed all of my fleet into the DX18 and am waiting for the snow to clear off.

The DX18 also has the bonus of much more flexibility such as being able to put in negative differential. Very easy if you happen to build your servos in the wing a certain way round and then find that aileron differential is the wrong way! The DX7 is not capable of this flexibility...
Siggy101 is offline Find More Posts by Siggy101
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion GP Fling Pull Strings (Stupid question vs. stupid mistake.) Bruno Stachel Hand Launch 4 Aug 22, 2011 04:31 PM
Really Quick/Stupid Question... Dual Conversion, Crystals... Minimole Radios 4 Jun 10, 2005 07:48 PM
Question Quick and stupid question about Mountain Models Magpie manatee Aerial Photography 2 Feb 24, 2005 05:33 AM
Stupid question about tx/rx crystals RandyK1 Radios 27 Nov 16, 2002 07:01 PM
Another stupid rx and tx question... LuckyArmpit Electric Plane Talk 4 Dec 15, 2001 12:29 AM