HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 02, 2012, 11:41 PM
DJI Support
Las Vegas/Lake Tahoe
Joined Feb 2010
10,759 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by JeffY View Post
I was in manual mode, so the Led is correct. I had calibrated the Tx and all sliders move in the right direction.

When I calibrated the ESC, I had to set my Tx throttle Ch 3 servo to Reverse in order to use the ESC, I am wondering if this is normal. In the DJI throttle slider in the Assistant, the normal slider setting had the slider running in the correct direction. May be I should try with the Tx servo set to normal and the DJI set to Rev?

Thanks.
Wouldn't that have the esc's recognizing low throttle as high? We have had a couple of arm and fly away instances which I attribute to either esc calibration or reversed throttle channel.
Tahoe Ed is online now Find More Posts by Tahoe Ed
Site Sponsor
Latest blog entry: Landing Gear Reset S800
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 02, 2012, 11:48 PM
Registered User
saabguyspg's Avatar
Calgary Canada
Joined Jun 2006
5,122 Posts
hi, ok so what I have is a quad with lots of weight down low... therefore the c of g is lower than the "cube"

I input a negative Z as per manual and she shakes like mad (more like vibrates) then I put in a positive number and it seems to fly better... but still I can't get my gains up much past 140%.

so I put it back to zero for Z and left it alone..

I am still running old firmware so I get the white flashes we all used to get but I am afraid to upgrade the firmware cause someimtes it's better the devil you know

Steve


Quote:
Originally Posted by cbergen View Post
Steve, Apparently I missed it, could you state the question about Z for the IMU?

As I understand it, in basic terms, CG being the Center of Gravity of the aircraft. This may NOT be represented by the actual center of the aircraft.

If your IMU is mounted ABOVE the CG, then you enter a negative number, representing the distance from the CG of the aircraft in centimeters.

My disclaimer, while I have not mounted many Wookong M's, I have mounted many of the other DJI Ace systems onto helicopters, the procedure is the same as far as recording the mounting of the different items.
saabguyspg is offline Find More Posts by saabguyspg
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 03, 2012, 12:09 AM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2004
144 Posts
Hmmm. While I cannot tell you that the upgrades will fix your problem, they are fixes to other bugs or setup concerns.

I would have to suggest that your vibrations are from some other source, and you are simply masking it with tricking the Z numbers. When trouble shooting problems, it's always best to eliminate the "easy" things. Set your numbers correctly per the manual and assistant, do the firmware upgrades and ensure afterwards that all settings are correct. Some firmware updates reset or put back to default certain settings, so you MUST double check all of them. If the problem persists, then we may need to look at your hardware choices.

Electronics are funny things, and with something new like these items from DJI, there is always a learning curve as to what components are compatible, for instance it was learned the hard way that some FBL electronics do NOT like 2 stage Turbine powered helicopters...
cbergen is offline Find More Posts by cbergen
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 03, 2012, 12:29 AM
Registered User
saabguyspg's Avatar
Calgary Canada
Joined Jun 2006
5,122 Posts
cheer thanks for now it flies reaonsably well... I am just not sure why everyone else has to turn up their gains so high and I don't....

Steve
saabguyspg is offline Find More Posts by saabguyspg
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 03, 2012, 12:49 AM
Registered User
Hong Kong
Joined Jan 2006
118 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tahoe Ed View Post
Wouldn't that have the esc's recognizing low throttle as high? We have had a couple of arm and fly away instances which I attribute to either esc calibration or reversed throttle channel.
Thanks for the heads-up, it will be careful and do a bench test without the props.

Anyone using the RCTigerMotor ESC?
JeffY is offline Find More Posts by JeffY
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 03, 2012, 01:47 AM
Registered User
tkeeg's Avatar
Trenton, NJ
Joined May 2008
913 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by quadman View Post
Guys,

Can you enlighten me, why I can't install the 32bit driver? I have a window XP dell computer. I connected all the wires for the MC and ran a 11.1V lipo to power up the MC and connected the USB wire from the MC to the computer.

But soon as I double click the .BAT file, a black window flash up, then disappear. In the manual, it said, I will need to follow the instruction and complete the installation. Anyone with anyone suggestions?
Quadman,
I had the exact same problem about 12 hours ago when setting up my new WK-M for the first time. Check out my post, http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...postcount=7527 ,especially the edit at the end. This fixed the problem instantly.
If you get stuck let me know & I'll be more specific for you.
Regards,
Tom
tkeeg is offline Find More Posts by tkeeg
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 03, 2012, 05:05 AM
Registered User
Japan, Tokyo, Chiyoda
Joined Oct 2010
239 Posts
thank you cbergen and RTRyder !
I understand the Wookong is currently the good gear to fly and will and probably the one thing I am looking for.
I will look for one second hand, or wait a bit for prices to drop, then have fun

Alain
alainphoto is offline Find More Posts by alainphoto
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 03, 2012, 06:15 AM
Registered User
United Kingdom, Aberdeen
Joined Aug 2011
14 Posts
Thanks Badbill your reply spured me into action again last night and at 3am I cracked it, no idea how I did it but it's working now. Many thanks
Harrismagnum04 is offline Find More Posts by Harrismagnum04
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 03, 2012, 07:32 AM
LUCAS MUNHOZ
Joined Aug 2011
56 Posts
Hello everyone!

Personally, I bought a frame in the HEXA XA CNCHELICOPTER with motors and ESCs AKE!

I rode in my DJI, however it is ranging up and down, relocate the wires already, as a gauge ESC ESC, already tested with and 10x4.5 propeller GF GRAUPHNER resultrado 10X5 and has always been the same!

He is swinging up and down and when the GPS active it starts spinning in circles from right to left until I have to reactivate the ATTI order to reestablish control! Sometimes a white LED is blinking, either in order or ATTI ATTI GPS!

The only thing I have not done is the calibration of all ESC only once, this would be the possible problem? nother thing left plate (IMU) on a soft surface with small ORINGS to absorb impact, this is bad, it's good? For other boards I rode it was necessary!

Check out some photos!

Please criticize as you like, I like tweaking the tests here!

http://www.colunaveis.com.br/hexa/001.JPG

http://www.colunaveis.com.br/hexa/002.JPG

http://www.colunaveis.com.br/hexa/003.JPG

http://www.colunaveis.com.br/hexa/004.JPG

http://www.colunaveis.com.br/hexa/005.JPG

http://www.colunaveis.com.br/hexa/006.JPG

http://www.colunaveis.com.br/hexa/007.JPG

http://www.colunaveis.com.br/hexa/008.JPG

http://www.colunaveis.com.br/hexa/009.JPG
lucasmunhoz is offline Find More Posts by lucasmunhoz
Last edited by lucasmunhoz; Jan 03, 2012 at 08:22 AM. Reason: NEW LINKS
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 03, 2012, 07:49 AM
RC Flying UK's Avatar
United Kingdom, York
Joined Apr 2011
909 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by lucasmunhoz View Post
Hello everyone!

Personally, I bought a frame in the HEXA XA CNCHELICOPTER with motors and ESCs AKE!

I rode in my DJI, however it is ranging up and down, relocate the wires already, as a gauge ESC ESC, already tested with and 10x4.5 propeller GF GRAUPHNER resultrado 10X5 and has always been the same!

He is swinging up and down and when the GPS active it starts spinning in circles from right to left until I have to reactivate the ATTI order to reestablish control! Sometimes a white LED is blinking, either in order or ATTI ATTI GPS!...
All those picture look identical to me. Anyway it looks like you have things pointing the right way. Did you calibrate the compass?
RC Flying UK is offline Find More Posts by RC Flying UK
Site Sponsor
Old Jan 03, 2012, 07:59 AM
Registered User
Moscow
Joined Jul 2006
392 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by cbergen View Post
here is a large Hexa using Wookong M as it's controller.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xkclK...0dFAAAAAAAADAA
Quote:
Originally Posted by cbergen View Post
No post, raw video.
Chris, with all respect to you, this vid definitely WAS poststabilized, its clearly seen if you watch it in 720, at 3:38 for example you will see typical poststab geometry artifacts, it is also seen by overall character of motion.
I've no doubt your hex does fly well, but lets dont cheat inexperienced people.

Cheers
Dimitri
mitmit is offline Find More Posts by mitmit
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 03, 2012, 08:21 AM
LUCAS MUNHOZ
Joined Aug 2011
56 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maljonic View Post
All those picture look identical to me. Anyway it looks like you have things pointing the right way. Did you calibrate the compass?
Yes I calibrate the compass!
lucasmunhoz is offline Find More Posts by lucasmunhoz
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 03, 2012, 08:24 AM
LUCAS MUNHOZ
Joined Aug 2011
56 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by lucasmunhoz View Post
Hello everyone!

Personally, I bought a frame in the HEXA XA CNCHELICOPTER with motors and ESCs AKE!

I rode in my DJI, however it is ranging up and down, relocate the wires already, as a gauge ESC ESC, already tested with and 10x4.5 propeller GF GRAUPHNER resultrado 10X5 and has always been the same!

He is swinging up and down and when the GPS active it starts spinning in circles from right to left until I have to reactivate the ATTI order to reestablish control! Sometimes a white LED is blinking, either in order or ATTI ATTI GPS!

The only thing I have not done is the calibration of all ESC only once, this would be the possible problem? nother thing left plate (IMU) on a soft surface with small ORINGS to absorb impact, this is bad, it's good? For other boards I rode it was necessary!

Check out some photos!

Please criticize as you like, I like tweaking the tests here!

http://www.colunaveis.com.br/hexa/001.JPG

http://www.colunaveis.com.br/hexa/002.JPG

http://www.colunaveis.com.br/hexa/003.JPG

http://www.colunaveis.com.br/hexa/004.JPG

http://www.colunaveis.com.br/hexa/005.JPG

http://www.colunaveis.com.br/hexa/006.JPG

http://www.colunaveis.com.br/hexa/007.JPG

http://www.colunaveis.com.br/hexa/008.JPG

http://www.colunaveis.com.br/hexa/009.JPG
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maljonic View Post
All those picture look identical to me. Anyway it looks like you have things pointing the right way. Did you calibrate the compass?

I put new links now! Sorry, if possible, see again!
lucasmunhoz is offline Find More Posts by lucasmunhoz
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 03, 2012, 09:17 AM
Registered User
Chalfont St Giles, Bucks, UK
Joined Jan 2007
3,196 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by lucasmunhoz View Post
Hello everyone!

Personally, I bought a frame in the HEXA XA CNCHELICOPTER with motors and ESCs AKE!

I rode in my DJI, however it is ranging up and down, relocate the wires already, as a gauge ESC ESC, already tested with and 10x4.5 propeller GF GRAUPHNER resultrado 10X5 and has always been the same!

He is swinging up and down and when the GPS active it starts spinning in circles from right to left until I have to reactivate the ATTI order to reestablish control! Sometimes a white LED is blinking, either in order or ATTI ATTI GPS!

The only thing I have not done is the calibration of all ESC only once, this would be the possible problem? nother thing left plate (IMU) on a soft surface with small ORINGS to absorb impact, this is bad, it's good? For other boards I rode it was necessary!

Check out some photos!

Please criticize as you like, I like tweaking the tests here!
Hi Lucas.
I would take the IMU off the plate and hard mount it to the bottom plate or at least get rid of o rings.
Paul@SCC is offline Find More Posts by Paul@SCC
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 03, 2012, 09:44 AM
Registered User
topgearuk's Avatar
United Kingdom, London
Joined Dec 2003
3,272 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul@SCC View Post
Hi Lucas.
I would take the IMU off the plate and hard mount it to the bottom plate or at least get rid of o rings.
+1 Also get rid of the sponge underneath it! Hard mount using normal thickness double-sided tape is the best way to avoid white flashing lights!
topgearuk is offline Find More Posts by topgearuk
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Ballistic Recovery System for Multirotors Duck! Aerial Photography 65 Feb 26, 2014 10:58 PM
Discussion DJI - WooKong eStab for Scale sidneyw Scale Helicopters 97 Dec 30, 2012 11:48 AM
Discussion FY3ZT Autopilot for Aerial Photography feiyudz Aerial Photography 116 May 07, 2012 05:58 PM
Discussion DJI AceOne autopilot for sale... hazchem88 Aerial Photography 4 Mar 31, 2011 04:54 AM
Discussion DJI Innovation helicopter autopilot XP.3.1 for European customers JoelT Aerial Photography 2 Sep 24, 2009 12:43 PM