HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Mar 14, 2014, 07:52 AM
Joined Dec 2013
4 Posts
Discussion
Intro and a couple questions

Hi everyone, been lurking for a while and finally signed up. I'm brand new to RC but come from a motocross and bmx background. I bought an older Tmaxx from my brother that had low run time (1 gallon of fuel went through it) he tried to rebuild the engine because "his friend told him to". After "rebuild" he couldn't get it started again then sat for several years. I got my hands on it a couple months ago after shooting the breeze at Christmas time at the parents. Bought a new engine for it (Dynamite .19 I think is what it's called) had some trouble getting it fired for the first time, but this past week I've finally got it going and broken in according to instructions supplied.
These things are pretty cool!! took it off my 5ft high bmx kicker yesterday and busted out some flips, but then tried flipping in the bucket of my loader and one rear driveshaft/cv shaft broke. What do I need for an upgrade for the driveshafts? I did a quick ebay search but don't really know what steel driveshafts will fit this older Tmaxx 2.5.
Also, maybe the biggest question, how do you clean these things?! It's pretty sloppy around my place with spring thaw happening, any spray cleaners that are safe? or old fashioned toothbrush and elbow grease?

Thanks,
RampBuilder81 is offline Find More Posts by RampBuilder81
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 14, 2014, 08:58 AM
Cow R/C
United States, MI, Grand Blanc
Joined Nov 2007
1,126 Posts
Welcome to RCG! MIP make CVDs for your Maxx truck

http://www.rcboca.com/mip-shiny-cvd-...FUcV7Aod81QATQ

As for cleaning this stuff works pretty good at getting some of the oily grime off

http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXWGA5&P=M

But a toothbrush and elbow grease get the job done right also.
fastmax is offline Find More Posts by fastmax
Old Mar 15, 2014, 08:19 AM
Joined Dec 2013
4 Posts