HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Feb 07, 2013, 01:45 PM
F3K all day
Joined Dec 2011
1,595 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by feefo View Post
Where are you US, EU, AUS?

This is the replacement part http://www.multiplex-rc.de/en/produc...7f1457864581c7

Available in EU....

http://www.hoelleinshop.com/Accessor...=15665&p=15665

or UK....

http://www.rcmodelcentre.co.uk/Multi...l?review=write

You can find a dealer in the US off MPX USA's website ...

http://www.multiplexusa.com/
Us. Thanks!
jasonafriedman is offline Find More Posts by jasonafriedman
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 09, 2013, 06:38 PM
Registered User
feefo's Avatar
Staffs, UK
Joined Apr 2009
3,110 Posts
Just need to check a couple of things, figured here was a good a place to ask as anywhere....

To work out how long a lipo will last at max discharge rate, it's 60 minutes / discharge rate, is that right? So a 20c lipo will take 3 minutes, a 30c lipo will take 2 mins..... etc etc?

Now I figure this isn't ideal (or even recommended) but FOR TESTING AMP DRAW PURPOSES ONLY, can I mix capacity SAFELY for a couple of quick motor runs? That way I can do a quick test with the lipo's I've got. I expect the max amp draw to be within the max c rating of the smaller pack.

Ok....let the arse kicking begin.....
feefo is online now Find More Posts by feefo
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 09, 2013, 09:44 PM
Registered User
GryphonRCU's Avatar
United States, CA, SF
Joined Mar 2008
3,733 Posts
Feefo,

Yeah it should be ok for a quick guestimate.

I used to be critical of that, but really as long as you are below max continuous max AMP rating of the weaker pack (amp wise, not cell count), then you are OK and will not be hurting either pack.

As much as I was not that crazy about it, I wired 4S-5000 30C and 5S-3000 40C (in series) and ran it up to 120A or so and some 3800W on my 16/X.
No issues.


P.S. 10S-3000 40C got maxed after that.....hehe

Gryph
GryphonRCU is offline Find More Posts by GryphonRCU
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2013, 03:33 AM
Why the dirt on the wings?
moparmyway's Avatar
New York
Joined Jan 2009
4,894 Posts
I agree !!
I will series batts @ storage with batts fully charged for test purposes only.

The biggest thing to watch is volts per cell. Dont go below 3.1 under discharge and you should be fine. This is only for testing - definately NOT for flying !!

Great question feefo
moparmyway is offline Find More Posts by moparmyway
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2013, 07:07 AM
Registered User
feefo's Avatar
Staffs, UK
Joined Apr 2009
3,110 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by moparmyway View Post
I agree !!
I will series batts @ storage with batts fully charged for test purposes only.

The biggest thing to watch is volts per cell. Dont go below 3.1 under discharge and you should be fine. This is only for testing - definately NOT for flying !!

Great question feefo
Well I'm not hot on the idea full stop, but it saves the expense of buying a battery that I think will be redundant unless it works/gives the numbers...

Like I said it'll be for just a quick couple of runs on 2 maybe 3 props (don't worry Gryph I've learnt my lesson re:cooling....)

Have I got the max discharge theory right? I presume that the figures I quoted would put voltage too low as you're emptying the pack completely?
feefo is online now Find More Posts by feefo
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2013, 02:04 PM
Registered User
FlyBillyFly's Avatar
Rogersville, Mo
Joined Jun 2008
3,291 Posts
Great Reading!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!...

Billy
FlyBillyFly is offline Find More Posts by FlyBillyFly
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2013, 11:29 AM
Registered User
Joined Nov 2012
384 Posts
HET typhoon 2w-30 motor mount pattern

not specific funjet question but i know lots here use this motor.
can anybody post the distance between the screws for mounting the motor?
i've seen some pics where it's some weird 3 screw orientation.
i need to know if it can be mounted in a 16x16mm configuration.
is it the same for all the typhoon series?
rcfisherman is offline Find More Posts by rcfisherman
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2013, 05:14 PM
You down with EPP?
johnnyrocco123's Avatar
Houston, Tx
Joined May 2009
6,565 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcfisherman View Post
not specific funjet question but i know lots here use this motor.
can anybody post the distance between the screws for mounting the motor?
i've seen some pics where it's some weird 3 screw orientation.
i need to know if it can be mounted in a 16x16mm configuration.
is it the same for all the typhoon series?
You can get two screws in. That's it. Iocktite is needed!!
johnnyrocco123 is offline Find More Posts by johnnyrocco123
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2013, 06:11 PM
Registered User
Joined Nov 2012
384 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyrocco123 View Post
You can get two screws in. That's it. Iocktite is needed!!
as long as 1 don't have to mod my 16x16mm mount, 2 screws is all i need

thx!
rcfisherman is offline Find More Posts by rcfisherman
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2013, 08:34 PM
You down with EPP?
johnnyrocco123's Avatar
Houston, Tx
Joined May 2009
6,565 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcfisherman View Post
as long as 1 don't have to mod my 16x16mm mount, 2 screws is all i need

thx!
I am selling my 2w30. It has very little use. I think I posted here every time I flew it. I always ended up changing back to my Mega.

Very low mileage. I will sell it for $50 shipped for anyone that is interested.

I will throw in the MPI heat sink as well.
johnnyrocco123 is offline Find More Posts by johnnyrocco123
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2013, 06:24 PM
Destructive Tester
jimmy34256's Avatar
Tampa, FL
Joined Apr 2008
1,322 Posts
In.....
jimmy34256 is offline Find More Posts by jimmy34256
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2013, 09:45 PM
Registered User
Joined Nov 2012
384 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmy34256 View Post
In.....
....and out
rcfisherman is offline Find More Posts by rcfisherman
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 02, 2013, 07:30 AM
Registered User
feefo's Avatar
Staffs, UK
Joined Apr 2009
3,110 Posts
Do smallparts CNC do a Mega mount which mates better with the new design Mega high flow shields?

Standard Mega shields have circular holes for airflow, which this mount has http://smallpartscnc.com/index.php?r...product_id=136 to allow max airflow through the motor, but I was wondering if they had a new design which isn't listed for the high flow shields option?
feefo is online now Find More Posts by feefo
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 02, 2013, 08:13 AM
Registered User
feefo's Avatar
Staffs, UK
Joined Apr 2009
3,110 Posts
Flybilly, you quoted 1 of your FJU's to weigh around 53oz's, can you tell me the setup plz bud?

And I'm presuming this is hand lauchable?
feefo is online now Find More Posts by feefo
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 02, 2013, 10:17 AM
Registered User
GryphonRCU's Avatar
United States, CA, SF
Joined Mar 2008
3,733 Posts
Hi Feefo,

I will try and get my hands on the mechanical drawing of the air passages on the new high flow Shields.
(Bolt pattern is still the usual 16X19).

Will forward it to Terry ASAP.


Gryphon
GryphonRCU is offline Find More Posts by GryphonRCU
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Funjet Ultra, more fast more fun.... tbmg1 FPV Talk 34 Jul 28, 2010 08:36 AM
Discussion Muliplex EasyStar WBFlyer FPV Talk 9 Mar 10, 2010 03:09 PM
Sold muliplex ASW 27 NIB bushpilotx1 Aircraft - Sailplanes (FS/W) 7 Aug 31, 2009 05:41 PM
Question Muliplex Alpha Junior Radio Instalation Allan Glover Sailplane Talk 3 Apr 09, 2004 01:37 AM
Muliplex MultiCharger 4010DC - is mine faulty ? borgs Batteries and Chargers 0 Jul 12, 2003 07:01 AM