New Products Flash Sale
Old Aug 27, 2015, 09:04 AM
Find More Posts by Mal Bond
United Kingdom, Sidcup
Joined Jun 2012
767 Posts
Discussion
Air Hogs Titan glider simple RC Trainer conversion

I have seen the huge variety of RC Conversions for the Air Hogs Titan glider.
There are many creative conversions which look nothing like the basic kids hand launch glider.
However, almost none of them exploited the amazing fact that the model is large, very light and designed to free fly well from a hand launch.
This means that the model will fly with almost no input to its flight path. It can also take RC without much effort.

So I was looking to convert this model to make a simple and cheap model for a complete beginner. That means a model that will fly well for a beginner in RC that will fly with simple RC gear and use low cost easily available equipment and materials.

I had seen that many modifications were quite elaborate and often used more difficult to obtain materials and parts. So I set out to simplify as much as possible and not do complicated things to this very low cost model.

My target audience is to be real Newcomers and RC Beginners that have almost no construction knowledge who want to get flying with an electric powered trainer plane that looks good.

I found there were some challenges in the basic model:-
1. The length of the control moment between the wing and the tail feathers. This was far too
short for a Trainer type model.
2. There were no control surfaces for RC flying.
3. There was no place to stow the RC gear without cutting the molded parts. Particularly the
fuselage.
4. There was no safe place to put a power unit to avoid breaking props.
5. Linking up RC gear was not easily hidden.
6. Using simple low cost RC gear.
7. Gluing the foam without damage.
8. Keeping as much of the original model's character as possible.