New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
Old May 02, 2015, 02:50 AM
Avaldes is offline
Find More Posts by Avaldes
Registered User
Avaldes's Avatar
United States, CA, San Luis Obispo
Joined Aug 2006
1,761 Posts
Yep, just run a single cable out to the ailerons and tee off at the flap servo. You also only need a 3-pin connection at the wing instead of a 4-pin with shared +/-. Save a few grams here and there an before you know it, you have a lighter airplane!!
Avaldes is offline Find More Posts by Avaldes
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old May 05, 2015, 09:58 AM
oakman7004 is offline
Find More Posts by oakman7004
Team WC2013 F3K
oakman7004's Avatar
Sweden
Joined Dec 2004
1,045 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Avaldes View Post
Those trays from rcsolutions look SWEET! Thanks for the link Bill. I am also trying the 3270 on the ailerons of my next 'styler and those trays would be great.

I really liked the BLS173 on the elevator of my old Maxa. I am planning to run a pair of them on the V-tails of my next Freestylers, and certainly on the elevator of whatever my next TD/J model might be. A strong, smooth elevator servo is an improvement that you can actually feel IMO.
bls173 work great for V-tail. I use he in y Shinto and the feel is crisp..

/Jonas Ekman
oakman7004 is offline Find More Posts by oakman7004
Reply With Quote
Old May 07, 2015, 07:03 PM
dnbarrie11 is offline
Find More Posts by dnbarrie11
RV7guy
dnbarrie11's Avatar
Chandler, AZ
Joined May 2004
676 Posts
SBus

I'm using SBus on all of my Open planes with the 7003 receiver. My Team Explorer 4.0 is using 3270's in the wing for flaps and ailerons. The fuse is using a BLS173 for Elevator and a 3270 for Rudder.

On my E-Explorer, all 3270s and the 7003 receiver. Using all the ports as I have the Elevator and Rudder plugged into ports 1 and 2.

On my E-Eagle full house, only using two ports. The SBus 2 port and one for the battery. All 3270's as well.

SBus is so simple and eliminates all the wire pollution in the fuselage. For electric soaring the 3270's are great on all surfaces.

Love this stuff!!

Darwin N. Barrie
Chandler, AZ
Team Futaba
dnbarrie11 is offline Find More Posts by dnbarrie11
Reply With Quote
Old May 07, 2015, 09:02 PM
ripacheco is offline
Find More Posts by ripacheco
rip
ripacheco's Avatar
United States, FL, Niceville
Joined Jan 2013
2,890 Posts
SBUS does make it easier to wire ... gotta make sure all connections are good... one bad connection may kill a whole "servo tree"
ripacheco is offline Find More Posts by ripacheco
Reply With Quote
Old May 18, 2015, 11:06 AM
ripacheco is offline
Find More Posts by ripacheco
rip
ripacheco's Avatar
United States, FL, Niceville
Joined Jan 2013
2,890 Posts
20% off some servos

20% off some servos

http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...72p?&L=FUTBDLL
ripacheco is offline Find More Posts by ripacheco
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 04, 2015, 06:57 AM
satinet is offline
Find More Posts by satinet
F3B
satinet's Avatar
Warwickshire, England
Joined Sep 2006
5,634 Posts
What's the situation with s3173s and s3174s, they seem out of stock everywhere, in Euroland at least?
satinet is offline Find More Posts by satinet
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 05, 2015, 07:39 AM
pmccleave is offline
Find More Posts by pmccleave
Registered User
USA, KS, Wichita
Joined Sep 2002
1,187 Posts
S3270's in Maxa Pro-E 4M

Darwin,

So you are using S3270's even on the elevator of your E-Xplorer? Have you had any issues at all with the Servo being strong enough? I am getting ready to rig up a Maxa Pro-E 4M and would love it if I could use the S3270's on Rudder and Elevator both for weight savings and for Room for a bit bigger battery. I had planned on using a S3173 laid down flat for the elevator but if the S3270 is strong enough for an Explorer Elevator it should be ample strong enough for Maxa Pro. I am still going to use S3173's for the flaps just because the Wing will be shared between a Glider and an E-Fuse.

Thanks,


Pat


.
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnbarrie11 View Post
I'm using SBus on all of my Open planes with the 7003 receiver. My Team Explorer 4.0 is using 3270's in the wing for flaps and ailerons. The fuse is using a BLS173 for Elevator and a 3270 for Rudder.

On my E-Explorer, all 3270s and the 7003 receiver. Using all the ports as I have the Elevator and Rudder plugged into ports 1 and 2.

On my E-Eagle full house, only using two ports. The SBus 2 port and one for the battery. All 3270's as well.

SBus is so simple and eliminates all the wire pollution in the fuselage. For electric soaring the 3270's are great on all surfaces.

Love this stuff!!

Darwin N. Barrie
Chandler, AZ
Team Futaba
pmccleave is offline Find More Posts by pmccleave
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 05, 2015, 11:21 AM
Silent-AV8R is online now
Find More Posts by Silent-AV8R
Team Futaba
Silent-AV8R's Avatar
Orange County, CA
Joined Aug 2004
5,394 Posts
Pat - I use 3270's all around on my 4-meter E-Pulsar (full house). So far I have not seen any issues, and it has a fairly large stab and flaps.
Silent-AV8R is online now Find More Posts by Silent-AV8R
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 05, 2015, 10:13 PM
dnbarrie11 is offline
Find More Posts by dnbarrie11
RV7guy
dnbarrie11's Avatar
Chandler, AZ
Joined May 2004
676 Posts
All 3270's

Quote:
Originally Posted by pmccleave View Post
Darwin,

So you are using S3270's even on the elevator of your E-Xplorer? Have you had any issues at all with the Servo being strong enough? I am getting ready to rig up a Maxa Pro-E 4M and would love it if I could use the S3270's on Rudder and Elevator both for weight savings and for Room for a bit bigger battery. I had planned on using a S3173 laid down flat for the elevator but if the S3270 is strong enough for an Explorer Elevator it should be ample strong enough for Maxa Pro. I am still going to use S3173's for the flaps just because the Wing will be shared between a Glider and an E-Fuse.

Thanks,


Pat


.
Hey Pat,

I used all 3270's on the E Xplorer. More than enough power and speed. There no extreme loads on the surfaces. On my Team 4.0 TD plane I used a BLS 173 on Elevator and 3270's on all other surfaces including flaps. Not a problem. More than enough power.

Darwin N. Barrie
Chandler, AZ
Team Futaba
dnbarrie11 is offline Find More Posts by dnbarrie11
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 06, 2015, 07:00 AM
pmccleave is offline
Find More Posts by pmccleave
Registered User
USA, KS, Wichita
Joined Sep 2002
1,187 Posts
Bill and Darwin,

Thanks for the info on using the S3270's. Have used a bunch of them on Ailerons and Rudders and love them. After hearing you are having good luck with them on the Xplorer 4M for Flaps I may go that way on my Maxa Pro as well.

Thanks,


Pat
pmccleave is offline Find More Posts by pmccleave
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 06, 2015, 09:19 AM
Silent-AV8R is online now
Find More Posts by Silent-AV8R
Team Futaba
Silent-AV8R's Avatar
Orange County, CA
Joined Aug 2004
5,394 Posts
TO be clear, neither one of us is in the habit of diving straight down for 1,500 feet and yanking the elevator hard. If that is part of your flying style, then maybe the 3270 will not handle the elevator. FWIW, I've used the old 3150 at a bone crushing 51 inch-ounces of torque on elevator for the original 3.8 full carbon Xplorer and on my full carbon Aspire. Never had an issue.
Silent-AV8R is online now Find More Posts by Silent-AV8R
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 06, 2015, 11:10 AM
ripacheco is offline
Find More Posts by ripacheco
rip
ripacheco's Avatar
United States, FL, Niceville
Joined Jan 2013
2,890 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Silent-AV8R View Post
TO be clear, neither one of us is in the habit of diving straight down for 1,500 feet and yanking the elevator hard. If that is part of your flying style, then maybe the 3270 will not handle the elevator...
I'm still a ham-fisted (fingers) pilot. i don't use the 3270 on elevator or flaps.
One day my skills will grow to the point where every-gram-matters (i hope )
ripacheco is offline Find More Posts by ripacheco
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 06, 2015, 11:43 AM
pmccleave is offline
Find More Posts by pmccleave
Registered User
USA, KS, Wichita
Joined Sep 2002
1,187 Posts
Bill,

I am with you. Not much into diving in from way up. Also not into screaming into the spot and then dumping the flaps either. Once again I really appreciate how you and Darwin help out with questions all the time on the Futaba Products. I know it is part of being a Team Pilot but not all Team Pilots I have known are as willing and ready to help as you guys are.

Thanks,


Pat


Quote:
Originally Posted by Silent-AV8R View Post
TO be clear, neither one of us is in the habit of diving straight down for 1,500 feet and yanking the elevator hard. If that is part of your flying style, then maybe the 3270 will not handle the elevator. FWIW, I've used the old 3150 at a bone crushing 51 inch-ounces of torque on elevator for the original 3.8 full carbon Xplorer and on my full carbon Aspire. Never had an issue.
pmccleave is offline Find More Posts by pmccleave
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 06, 2015, 12:17 PM
Silent-AV8R is online now
Find More Posts by Silent-AV8R
Team Futaba
Silent-AV8R's Avatar
Orange County, CA
Joined Aug 2004
5,394 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by pmccleave View Post
Bill,

I am with you. Not much into diving in from way up. Also not into screaming into the spot and then dumping the flaps either. Once again I really appreciate how you and Darwin help out with questions all the time on the Futaba Products. I know it is part of being a Team Pilot but not all Team Pilots I have known are as willing and ready to help as you guys are.

Thanks,


Pat
No worries, it's why I get paid the XXL Tee Shirts
Silent-AV8R is online now Find More Posts by Silent-AV8R
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 06, 2015, 01:08 PM
pmccleave is offline
Find More Posts by pmccleave
Registered User
USA, KS, Wichita
Joined Sep 2002
1,187 Posts
Ha Ha. When I filled out my Registration Card for my 18MZ it asked my shirt size so I thought I was going to get a Cool Orange Shirt but it never came.

See Ya,


Pat

Quote:
Originally Posted by Silent-AV8R View Post
No worries, it's why I get paid the XXL Tee Shirts
pmccleave is offline Find More Posts by pmccleave
Reply With Quote


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sold (5) Futaba S148 servos and (1) Futaba S133 Micro servo JimG_AZ Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 1 Dec 04, 2013 10:25 PM
Sold (2) Futaba S3004 servos and (2) Futaba S3003 servos JimG_AZ Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 1 Dec 04, 2013 10:24 PM
Sold 2 Futaba GY401, 1 NEW Eflite G210, 1 Futaba S9257 Servo bbrc77 Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 2 Nov 30, 2013 07:46 PM
Sold New Futaba Replacement Servo Gear Sets & Other Parts pnman Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 0 Nov 21, 2013 12:02 AM
Sold New Futaba S33 servos and one Futaba S32 with accessories uniquewon Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 0 Oct 06, 2013 03:57 PM