HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Sep 30, 2014, 03:51 AM
United States, HI, Honolulu
Joined Mar 2008
151 Posts
Discussion
Newbie to blimps. Where to start?

I've been flying multirotor UAVs for quite sometime now. I also work in the concert/entertainment industry and have been able to use my UAVs outdoors with no problems.

As of recently more of the events in my area have been moving indoors. While I'm confident as a UAV pilot, I've made it a personal rule never to fly in close proximity to masses of people. Obviously an indoor event (think warehouse venues) will pose problems for a multirotor UAV.

I'm thinking a small blimp (3-6ft), carrying a gopro + flight electronics should do the trick.

Are there any sub $600 blimp solutions out there?

-Thanks
h00t is offline Find More Posts by h00t
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 01, 2014, 10:23 AM
Joined Feb 2009
406 Posts
I think the size of the RC blimp market is so tiny and the manual labor in producing blimps is so high that you are unlikely to find any turn-key solutions cheaper than that. The quad market is huge by comparison and they are simple to construct, so they are a lot cheaper.
pyronaught is offline Find More Posts by pyronaught
Old Oct 02, 2014, 09:24 AM
United States, HI, Honolulu
Joined Mar 2008
151 Posts
So far my research seems to indicate what you've said.

Personally I just don't want the liability of having four rotors spinning at 15,000RPM hitting someone. At least with a blimp if something fails it will just float around.
h00t is offline Find More Posts by h00t
Old Oct 02, 2014, 10:00 AM
Joined Feb 2009
406 Posts
Yeah, I don't blame you. It doesn't matter how good of a pilot you are, sometimes the hardware just fails. A blimp will slowly float down because they are flown heavy, but you have plenty of time to shut the motors off. A quad just drops like a rock. With a blimp you can also make extra money advertising on it, which you can't do with a multi-rotor.