HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Aug 20, 2002, 11:55 AM
Sweden (born UK bred Wales)
Joined Aug 2002
467 Posts
Please help me assess slope

As you might have guessed I am a newbie on the brink of buying a foamie trainer.

Anyway, today I went out and did an examination of my local slope. I've never seen anyone flying there and it's not listed as a site. Since I do not own a car this location is my only option.

The slope is actually a huge man-made conical hill which was once used for skiing. It's 100m (300ft) high with slopes varying from vertical to a gentle slope. It has faces in every direction meaning that it should provide lift with any wind direction. Furthermore it's covered in high grass!

That's the good news. The bad news is that there are floodlights, pylons, lifts and overhead cables. Most of these are concentrated towards the top of the hill.

I'm wondering if I could fly half way up the slope where there are less obstacles. Is this possible from a lift/turbulence point of view?

Then I'm also curious about landings. I know that aircraft always land into the wind but that would mean flying away from the hill...?

Thanks in advance
Gareth
konaboy is offline Find More Posts by konaboy
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 20, 2002, 12:44 PM
Lifes 2 short, go sloping
colorado @ 5500feet
Joined Sep 2001
1,054 Posts
You can fly half way down the slope or give the top a try as long as it won't get suck on the cables... as far as the slopes them selfs go you need atleast a 45 degree angle to get enough lift to fly, and the steeper the angle the better the lift. I fly on a regular basis at a slope that is 200ft tall 300ft wide and about a 55 degree angle and I have a great time out there, it is directly over a highway so it is not for the faint of heart!

Yes you can have alot of fun out there, be ready to be addicted to it.
Vinnya42 is offline Find More Posts by Vinnya42
Old Aug 20, 2002, 05:40 PM
Lakewood, Colorado
Joined Aug 2002
29,079 Posts