HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jul 12, 2013, 12:39 PM
Joined Jun 2013
5 Posts
Putting together an outboard drive

Talk about diving in the deep end. I am not a complete novice when it come to RC boats but this new project I have embarked on has taken me well out of my comfort zone with a high end scratch build.

To keep field repairs simple for this project I have opted for and outboard. The boat will not be built for speed but for towing power. Any feed back in addition to helping me with specific question I have will be greatly appreciated.

First point; matching a motor to an outboard leg. After tolling through rafts of web searches and various conversations with people I also took outside of their comfort zone, I settled on the Brushless outboard leg Large manufactured by TFL. That seems straight forward enough but now I have to match it to a motor.

In searching for a slow spinning motor for the larges prop I can attach is found the NTM Prop Drive 35-48 Series 900KV / 815W which seems like a reasonable starting point.

Here is my problem. Reading through all the info I can find on the Outboard leg I know that the motor shaft is the correct size but its casing is 1mm smaller in diameter than the acceptable range specified for the outboard leg.

Can anyone confirm if these two components will bolt together without any issues? Also, can anyone suggest a better combination? Remember I am going for pulling power not speed.
MarcusAdler is offline Find More Posts by MarcusAdler
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 14, 2013, 08:45 AM
Joined May 2012
280 Posts
WOW! Glad I'm not in Australia! Lotta money for that lower unit!
No experience with what you are attempting, I go fast.
As long as the bolt pattern matches up you can pretty much mount any motor.