HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Dec 01, 2003, 03:54 PM
Northern California
Joined Dec 2003
6 Posts
Bay slopes for easterly winds

I'm a newbie to this so apologies if this is a dumb question, but are there any good slope sites in SF Bay Area for when the wind is coming predominantly from the East?
rcarlin is offline Find More Posts by rcarlin
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 01, 2003, 07:45 PM
Sunnyvale, California, United States
Joined Jul 2000
1,790 Posts
Rcarlin;

Check out these sites:

http://home.comcast.net/~axelb/start.html

http://tuffplanes.com

Each of these sites will tell which wind direction works best.

Also check out the yahoo groups dumpsters, if you are new to sloping and live in the Bay Area.

Henry

Windy Hill works great on a due East wind direction.
hmhoshi is offline Find More Posts by hmhoshi
Last edited by hmhoshi; Dec 01, 2003 at 07:49 PM.
Old Dec 02, 2003, 01:48 PM
rational exuberance
USA, CA, Castro Valley
Joined Aug 2003
1,650 Posts
RCarlin,

Try Vollmer Peak in Tilden. There are good directions on the axelb site Henry listed. I've only been there a couple times, but when the wind's right, the lift extends farther than you want to fly in any direction.

I'm a relative newbie too and I went on a good saturday once. There were some veterans flying big glass ships and they were extremely helpful and nice.

I had my wind meter out, only reading about 4mph and a couple of them came up and said, "Don't worry about the wind speed where we're standing, there's plenty of lift out there." So I chucked it out, and it flew great! Pretty soft landing on the right side too, just fly out to the right, come back in parallel to the ridge and land in the tall grass.

Good luck.
Duncan
Dunqun is offline Find More Posts by Dunqun
Old Dec 02, 2003, 04:37 PM
Joined Jul 2000
1,790 Posts
Hey! Duncan;